CPD FOOTBALL | THE BLOG | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Indian team touch base in Muscat

Team India at the gym

Team India at the gym

The Indian national team has arrived in Muscat for an international FIFA friendly match against hosts Oman.

The 30-member squad went through various training sessions in Dubai, under the watchful eyes of head coach Savio Medeira and physical trainer Pradip Dutta.

Savio Medeira’s team will face a strong Oman national team on Thursday and the India coach is looking forward to the match. „The match against Oman forms an integral part of our preparation for the forthcoming AFC Challenge Cup. This apart, we have another international friendly lined up against Azerbaijan on February 27,“ Savio told.

„We have a tough task ahead. This is a young bunch and many would be playing their first international match. We need to stay focused,“ the coach continued.

„Both the matches would help us gauge our progress,“ Savio added.

Oman are presently ranked 95th in the FIFA World Ranking, while India are placed 154th in the world.

The Oman vs India will be played at the Sultan Qaboos Sports Complex, Muscat and the kick-off has been changed to 13.30 local time (15.00 IST | 10.30 CET | 09.30 GMT) due to the circumstances reported earlier.

.

Please check my new FREE Indian Football News App:
FOOTBALL NEWS FLASH
[Click here to get the APP]

.