CPD FOOTBALL | THE BLOG | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

BREAKING NEWS: Robin Dutt to be named Germany’s Director of Sports

Robin Dutt

Indian origin Robin Dutt will be appointed the new Director of Sports of the German Football Association (DFB) according to German media reports on Tuesday evening. Dutt would succeed Matthias Sammer who left the DFB ealier in July to join German giants FC Bayern Munich.

Dutt has coached various German club teams and he worked hard to be rated as one of the most talented coaches in Germany football recently. The 47-year-old German of Bengali roots has coached Bundesliga outfits SC Freiburg and Bayer 04 Leverkusen as a coach. The highly-rated Dutt used the past months to recharge after his sacking at Bayer 04 Leverkusen in April this year.

Dutt had a meeting with DFB President Wolfgang Niersbach earlier on Tuesday to sign a long-term deal with the German according to sources. He did also have discussions with German national team coach Joachim Löw on the future plans of the national set-up.

Dutt would be in charge of all topics related to the junior national teams, youth development and instrumental to create a bridge to the senior national team.

The DFB was not available for an official statement on the appointment yet, but it has been learnt that the 47-year-old Dutt would be official presented to the public at a press conference on Wednesday. The press conference would commence at 12.00 CET (15.30 IST / 11.00 GMT).

Robin Dutt’s appointment would be another memorable chapter to Indian origins getting into major football positions around the world. The „Indian Summer“ in Europe could now spread to the administrative level.

I will keep you updated on this unconfirmed developing story at www.chrispd.de and www.facebook.com/cpd81 – Get the news as it happens!