CPD FOOTBALL | THE BLOG | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

James Rodríguez could debut for Bayern at the Telekom Cup

Telekom Cup 2017

Colombian superstar James Rodríguez could feature in the FC Bayern Munich squad which will travel to Mönchengladbach to participate in the Telekom Cup 2017 tomorrow.

Rodríguez joined Bayern on Tuesday and had his first few training sessions with his new teammates in the last two days.

Carlo Ancelotti has stated that Rodríguez could make his debut for Bayern at the pre-season tournament at the BORUSSIA-PARK, where Borussia Mönchengladbach play host to Bayern, TSG 1899 Hoffenheim and SV Werder Bremen. The Italian head coach will leave it late to decide on the final squad and said: „If James is fit, then he can play.“

Borussia Mönchengladbach is scheduled to take on Werder Bremen in the first semifinal at 14.00 CET (17.30 IST), while FC Bayern Munich and 1899 Hoffenheim would clash in the second semifinal at 15.15 CET (18.45 IST). The losing semifinalists will feature in a 3rd Place Match (16.30 CET / 20.00 IST), before the 9th edition of the Telekom Cup culminates in the Final (17.45 CET / 21.15 IST).

All the matches will have a duration of 45 minutes without extra-time. A penalty shoot-out would take place in case of a draw at full time.

Please follow me and Arunava Chaudhuri on our social media channels to enjoy exlusive content live from the Telekom Cup 2017:
Chris Punnakkattu Daniel – @cpdfootball – Facebook | Twitter | Instagram
Arunava Chaudhuri – @arunfoot – Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

The Telekom Cup 2017 matches will be broadcast live by German TV channel Sat.1. Matthias Killing and Andrea Kaiser will be the hosts.

Tickets for the Telekom Cup 2017 are available at www.telekomcup.de and have been priced to suit every budget and range from € 12,50 to € 40,00.