CPD FOOTBALL | THE BLOG | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Manipur win Junior Girls National Championship 2017

Manipur win Junior Girls National Championship 2017 (Photo courtesy: Football Association of Odisha)

Manipur have won the Junior Girls National Championship 2017 after a keenly contested Final today. Manipur defeated Odisha 3-2 at the Barabati Stadium in Cuttack.

The goal scorers for Manipur were T. Kritina Devi (22′) and A. Roja Devi (41′, 90’+1′), while Odisha struck back through Suman Prgyan Mohapatra (79′) and an own goal (43′) from a Manipuri player.

The Final took place in the presence of Debashish Samantaray (Hon’ble MLA, Barabati Cuttack & President, FAO), Asirbad Behera (Hon’ble Secretary, Odisha Armature Athletics Association) and Sapna Rani (Assistant Manager, Women & Academies, AIFF).

Other dignitaries who were present at the Final were Bijaya Das (Vice President, FAO), Bhakta Ballav Das (Vice President, FAO), Tadit Kumar Rout (Vice President, FAO), Dillip Kumar Sahoo (Vice President, FAO), Avijit Paul(Joint Secretary, FAO), Bijaya Kumar Das (Joint Secretary, FAO), Sangita Sharma (Joint Secretary, FAO), Gopal Das (Member, FAO), Amit Behera (Member, FAO), Ahok Sahoo (Hon’y Secretary, Odisha Gymnastics Association) besides many more. Sanjay Behera (Hon’y Secretary, FAO) presided over the proceedings.

The Football Association of Odisha (FAO) also felicitated four women’s footballers during the closing ceremony who represented the Indian Women’s Senior National Team in the friendly match against Malaysia. The four players were felicitated and awarded a cash reward of Rs. 10,000/- each. Former Indian Women’s National Team captain Oinam Bembem Devi was also felicitated at the occasion.

Also the Football Association of Odisha declared a cash reward of Rs. 5,000 each to all the players, coach, manager and support staff of the Junior Girls Team, which lost the Junior Girls National Championship 2017 Final.