THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

AFC Asian Cup 2011: India squad announced

AFC Asian Cup 2011 - India

AFC Asian Cup 2011 - India

The All India Football Federation announced the final 23 player squad for the 2011 AFC Asian Cup to be played from January 7 to 29 in Qatar.

Goalkeeper Arindam Bhattacharya, defender Samir Naik and winger Anthony Pereira have been dropped from the squad due to injuries. Nallappan Mohanraj, James Lukram Singh, Jagpreet Singh, Baljit Singh Sahni and M. Mohammed Rafi are the other players left out of the final squad for the AFC Asian Cup 2011.

The Indian team will start its AFC Asian Cup campaign against Australia on January 10.

Subrata Pal (Pune FC) [Picture], Subhasish Roy Choudhury (Dempo SC) [Picture], Gurpreet Singh Sandhu (AIFF XI) [Picture]

Anwar Ali (Dempo SC) [Picture], Mahesh Gawli (Dempo SC) [Picture], Deepak Kumar Mondal (Mohun Bagan AC) [Picture], Nanjangud Shivananju Manju (Mohun Bagan AC) [Picture], Rakesh Masih (Mohun Bagan AC) [Picture], Syed Rahim Nabi (East Bengal Club) [Picture], Gouramangi Moirangthem Singh (Churchill Brothers SC) [Picture], Govin Moirangthem Singh (East Bengal Club) [Picture], Irungbam Surkumar Singh (Mohun Bagan AC) [Picture]

Steven Benedic Dias (Churchill Brothers SC) [Picture], Climax Lawrence (Dempo SC) [Picture], Clifford Miranda (Dempo SC) [Picture], Naduparambil Pappachan Pradeep (Mahindra United) [Picture], Baldeep Singh Jr (JCT) [Picture], Potsangbam Renedy Singh (East Bengal Club) [Picture], Mehrajuddin Wadao (East Bengal Club) [Picture]

Baichung Bhutia (Captain, East Bengal Club) [Picture], Sunil Chhetri (Sporting Kansas City) [Picture], Sushil Kumar Singh (East Bengal Club) [Picture], Abhishek Yadav (Mumbai FC) [Picture]

Robert ‘Bob’ Douglas Houghton (Chief Coach), Savio Medeira (Assistant Coach), Antonio Marcus Pacheco (Goalkeeper Coach), Suresh Babu (Physical Trainer), Dr. Gagan Kapoor (Physiotherapist), Liaqat Ali (Masseur), Raul Fernandes (Manager), Subrata Dutta (Chef de Mission), Larsing L Sawayan (Head of Delegation)