THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

India probables list full of surprises

India at the AFC Asian Cup 2011

India at the AFC Asian Cup 2011

The AIFF has announced 44 probables for the 2012 AFC Challenge Cup Qualifiers and has surprisingly left out most of the senior star players.

The federation has decided to drop most of the experienced players and will rely on youngsters to get the team through the qualifiers. The qualifiers will be played in March 2011 in which India would face Turkmenistan, Pakistan and Chinese Taipei.

The list of the dropped senior players include skipper Baichung Bhutia, Mahesh Gawli, Deepak Kumar Mondal, Climax Lawrence, Renedy Singh, Subhashish Roy Chowdhury, Irungbam Surkumar Singh, Naduparambil Pappachen Pradeep, Mehrajuddin Wadoo, Clifford Miranda, Abhishek Yadav and Mohammed Rafi.

India probables:

Subrata Pal (Pune FC), Arindam Bhattacharya (Churchill Brothers SC), Gurpreet Singh Sandhu (Indian Arrows), Jagroop Singh (Indian Arrows), Ravi Kumar (Indian Arrows)

Denzil Franco (Churchill Brothers SC), Gouramangi Moirangthem Singh (Churchill Brothers SC), Anwar (Mohun Bagan AC), Nalappan Mohanraj (Mohun Bagan AC), Nirmal Chetri (East Bengal Club), Govin Moirangthem Singh (Salgaocar SC), Syed Rahim Nabi (East Bengal Club), Raju Eknath Gaekwad (Indian Arrows), R. Vishal Kumar (Indian Arrows), Abhishek Das (Indian Arrows), Deepak Devrani (Indian Arrows), Lalrozama Fenai (Indian Arrows), Souvik Ghosh (Indian Arrows), Inderpreet Singh (Indian Arrows), Prathamesh Maulingkar (Indian Arrows), Nanjangud Shivananju Manju

Steven Benedic Dias (Churchill Brothers SC), Joaquim Abranches (Dempo SC), Baldeep Singh (JCT), Jagpreet Singh (JCT), Rakesh Masih (Mohun Bagan AC), Jewel Raja Sheikh (Indian Arrows), Shilton D’Silva (Indian Arrows), Akshay Kumar Mall (Indian Arrows), Subodh Kumar (Indian Arrows), Ongnam Milan Singh (Indian Arrows), Bikramjit Singh (Indian Arrows), Lalrindika Ralte (Indian Arrows), Trithankar Sarkar (Indian Arrows), Jibon Singh (Indian Arrows)

Sunil Chhetri (Chirag United SC), Sushil Kumar Singh (East Bengal Club), C.S. Sabeeth (Viva Kerala), Jeje Lalpekhlua (Indian Arrows), Manandeep Singh (Indian Arrows), Robin Singh (East Bengal Club), Malsawmfela (Indian Arrows), Jagtar Singh (Indian Arrows), Holicharan Narzary