THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Colaco names 42 India probables

Indian national team

Indian national team

The All India Football Federation (AIFF) has released a probables list of 42 players for the upcoming 2014 FIFA World Cup qualifiers against the UAE. The list is missing several senior internationals including star skipper Baichung Bhutia and midfielder Renedy Singh.

The 42 players have been asked to report for the preparatory camp in Delhi from June 15, 2011 onwards. The camp will be held under the supervision of new India coach Armando Colaco, who has been named the interims coach of ‘The Bhangra Boys’.

India is slated to play UAE in an away match on July 23 and then in Delhi on July 28.


Subrata Pal (Pune FC), Jagroop Singh (Indian Arrows), Sandip Nandy (East Bengal Club), Karanjit Singh (Salgaocar SC), Laxmikant Kattimani (Dempo SC)

Gouramangi Moirangthem Singh (Churchill Brothers SC), Denzil Franco (Churchill Brothers SC), Robert Lalthlamuana (Churchill Brothers SC), Rowilson Rodrigues (Churchill Brothers SC), Thokchom Naoba Singh (East Bengal Club), Gurwinder Singh (East Bengal Club), Raju Eknath Gaikwad (Indian Arrows), Khangembam Singh (Salgaocar SC), Valeriano Rebello, Debabrata Roy (Dempo SC), Sameer Naik (Dempo SC), Mahesh Gawli (Dempo SC), Nalappan Mohanraj (Mohun Bagan AC), Rakesh Masih (Mohun Bagan AC)

Mehtab Hossain (East Bengal Club), Syed Rahim Nabi (East Bengal Club), Harmanjot Khabra (East Bengal Club), Steven Benedic Dias (Churchill Brothers SC), Jewel Raja Sheikh (Indian Arrows), Khangembam Jibon Singh (Indian Arrows), Shilton D’Silva (Indian Arrows), Lalrindika Ralte (Indian Arrows), Gilbert Oliviera (Salgaocar SC), Francis Fernandes (Salgaocar SC), Anthony Barbosa (Salgaocar SC), Rocus Lamare (Salgaocar SC), Baldeep Singh (Salgaocar SC), Peter Carvalho (Dempo SC), Climax Lawrence (Dempo SC), Clifford Miranda (Dempo SC); Xavier Vijayakumar (Hindustan Aeronautics Limited SC)

Sunil Chhetri (Chirag United SC), Jeje Lalpekhlua (Indian Arrows), Joaquim Abranches (Dempo SC), C.S. Sabeeth (Viva Kerala), P.K. Anil Kumar (Viva Kerala), Sushil Kumar Singh (East Bengal Club)

Armando Colaco (Chief Coach), Savio Medeira (Assistant Coach), Marcus Pacheco (Goalkeeping Coach)

In addition to the above, goalkeeper Arindam Bhattacharya and midfielder Anthony Pereira will also be a part of the camp as part of their ongoing rehabilitation process.

The footballers who are a part of India’s Olympic campaign against Qatar will be joining the camp after June 23.