THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Mehtab Hussain named “Indian Player of the Year”

FPAI - Indian Football Awards 2011

FPAI - Indian Football Awards 2011

Mehtab Hussain has been named “FPAI Indian Player of the Year” at the “Indian Football Awards 2011”. The award gala night organised by the Football Players Association of India (FPAI) took place at the ITC Sonar, Kolkata today.

“This a special feeling for me as my teammates voted for me. I would once again like to thank god, my family and especially my wife,” a delighted Mehtab told.

The Honorable Governor of West Bengal Shri M.K.Narayanan inaugurated the event before a number of footballers, officials and celebrities experienced a glamorous evening.

Salgaocar coach Karim Bencherifa was declared “Coach of the Year” as a result of the voting conducted by the FPAI.

“Firstly I would like to thank Baichung Bhutia. Of course my family has supported me throughout. I must also thank all the clubs that have sharpened my career. First Churchill, then Mohun Bagan and now Salgaocar. This award is for all my players and staff of Salgaocar,” Bencherifa told after receiving the award.

Jeje Lalpekhlua clinched the “FPAI Young Player of the Year” award, while Roberto Mendes Silva was awarded the “FPAI Foreign Player of the Year” award.

East Bengal Club’s Mehtab Hussain won the “FPAI Fans Player of the Year” category. Football fans around the globe had the chance to cast their vote for the “FPAI Fans Player of the Year” award and Mehtab received the honour of winning this special category.

The FPAI gave away another award in honour of the Indian national team, which took part in the 2011 AFC Asian Cup. The Indian team qualified for the Asian continental finals after a gap of 27 years and faced tough opposition in Australia, Bahrain and Korea Republic. The winner of this category was determined by an online voting. Subrata Pal received the most votes to win the “FPAI Fans Player of the Asian Cup” award.

“I love the fans and they love me. I always try to give my best for both club and country. It was an amazing experience to play the likes of Australia, South Korea and Bahrain in the Asian Cup. Hopefully we will play in the 2015 Asian Cup also,” Subrata told in his speech.

India striker Sunil Chhetri received a special award for winning Arjuna Award, while India’s legendary star skipper and FPAI President Baichung Bhutia for his contribution to Indian football following his international retirement.

The list of celebrities present at the event included the likes of Bollywood actress Raima Sen, Tollywood actress Rituparna Sengupta, tennis legend Leander Paes, cricketer Ranadeb Bose and many more.



FPAI Indian Player of the Year
Mehtab Hussain (East Bengal Club)
(Other Nominees: Mahesh Gawli, Climax Lawrence)

FPAI Coach of the Year
Karim Bencherifa (Salgaocar SC)
(Other Nominees: Armando Colaco, Trevor Morgan)

FPAI Young Player of the Year
Jeje Lalpekhlua (Pune FC)
(Other Nominees: Raju Eknath Gaikwad, Lenny Rodrigues)

FPAI Foreign Player of the Year
Roberto Mendes Silva (Churchill Brothers SC)
(Other Nominees: Ryuji Sueoka, Odafe Onyeka Okolie)

FPAI Fans Player of the Year
Mehtab Hussain (East Bengal Club)
(Other Nominees: Luciano Sabrosa, Tolgay Ozbey, Ranty Martins Soleye, Yusif Yakubu)

FPAI Fans Player of the Asian Cup
Subrata Pal (Pune FC)

FPAI Team of the Year
Subrata Pal (Pune FC)
Naoba Singh (East Bengal)
Mahesh Gawli (Dempo SC)
Uga Okpara (East Bengal)
Syed Rahim Nabi (Mohun Bagan)
Steven Benedic Dias (Churchill Brothers SC)
Ryuji Suoeka (Salgaocar SC)
Mehtab Hussain (East Bengal)
Lenny Rodrigues (Churchill Brothers SC)
Odafe Onyeka Okolie (Mohun Bagan)
Roberto Mendes Silva (Churchill Brothers SC)