THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Medeira names India squad for AFC Challenge Cup

Team India - Syed Rahim Nabi, Savio Medeira and Sunil Chhetri

Team India - Syed Rahim Nabi, Savio Medeira and Sunil Chhetri

Indian national team coach Savio Medeira has named a 23-member squad for the upcoming AFC Challenge Cup 2012 in Kathmandu, Nepal.

The Indian team has been drawn into a tough Group B along with DPR Korea, Tajikistan and Philippines. India will face Tajikistan in their opener on March 9, before they take on the Philippines on March 11.

The final group stage match will be against strong FIFA World Cup 2010 participants DPR Korea.

The Indian team is currently in Dubai for a preparatin camp and the final squad will leave for Kathmandu on Sunday afternoon.



1-Karanjit Singh (Salgaocar SC), 25-Subhasish Roy Chowdhury (Dempo SC), 36-Arindam Bhattacharya (Churchill Brothers SC)

3-Raju Eknath Gaikwad (East Bengal Club), 4-Nirmal Chettri (East Bengal Club), 5-Anwar Ali (Mohun Bagan AC), 16-Sameer Subash Naik (Dempo SC), 19-Gouramangi Moirangthem Singh (Churchill Brothers SC), 22-Syed Rahim Nabi (Mohun Bagan AC), 27-Gurjinder Kumar Singh (Pune FC), 40-Kingshuk Debnath (Mohun Bagan AC)

12-Anthony Pereira (Dempo SC), 17-Adil Ahmed Khan (Sporting Clube de Goa), 20-Lalrindika Ralte (Churchill Brothers SC), 21-Rocus Lamare (Salgaocar SC), 26-Francis Fernandes (Salgaocar SC), 28-Jewel Raja Sheikh (Mohun Bagan AC), 32-Reisangmi Vashum (East Bengal Club), 47-Lenny Rodrigues (Churchill Brothers SC)

6-C.S. Sabeeth (Pailan Arrows), 9-Joaquim Abranches (Dempo SC), 11-Sunil Chhetri (Mohun Bagan AC), 18-Sushil Kumar Singh (Shillong Lajong FC)

Savio Medeira (Chief Coach), Mariano Dias (Assistant Coach), Marcus Pacheco (Goalkeeping Coach), Pradip Datta (Physical Trainer), Sandeep Kumar (Doctor), Gigy George (Physio), Liaqat Ali (Masseur), Mandar Tamhane (Manager)