THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

EURO 2012: Germany name final 23-member squad

Germany name final 23-member squad

Germany coach Joachim Loew has named his final 23-member squad for the UEFA EURO 2012. Loew has decided to drop Marc-André ter Stegen, Sven Bender, Julian Draxler and Cacau from his preliminary squad for the continental championship.

The German coach informed the four players in one-to-one conversations today morning and the concerned players have left the German camp on Monday.

Young keeper Marc-André ter Stegen has expressed his disappointment on the decision. “I’m of course disappointment. But the days with the national team were a really interesting experience for me. My debut for the national team against Switzerland was an important step in my career, although we lost the match. I wish the team all the best for the EURO,” ter Stegen told in an official release by the German federation DFB.

Experienced striker Cacau was also disappointed on Loew’s decision to drop him from the final squad. “It was my big dream to represent the German national team at the EURO 2012, after representing the country in the 2010 World Cup. I knew before that it would be a tough contest to get one of the 23 spots in the squad. I did my best. Yes, I’m disappointed like the younger players. But I still feel like a part of this team and I wish from the bottom of my heart that they will play a successful EURO,” said Cacau.



Manuel Neuer (FC Bayern München), Tim Wiese (SV Werder Bremen), Ron-Robert Zieler (Hannover 96)

Holger Badstuber (FC Bayern München), Jerome Boateng (FC Bayern München), Benedikt Höwedes (FC Schalke 04), Mats Hummels (Borussia Dortmund), Philipp Lahm (FC Bayern München), Per Mertesacker (Arsenal FC), Marcel Schmelzer (Borussia Dortmund)

Lars Bender (Bayer 04 Leverkusen), Mario Götze (Borussia Dortmund), Ilkay Gündogan (Borussia Dortmund), Sami Khedira (Real Madrid CF), Toni Kroos (FC Bayern München), Thomas Müller (FC Bayern München), Mesut Özil (Real Madrid CF), Lukas Podolski (1. FC Köln), Marco Reus (Borussia Mönchengladbach), André Schürrle (Bayer 04 Leverkusen), Bastian Schweinsteiger (FC Bayern München)

Mario Gomez (FC Bayern München), Miroslav Klose (SS Lazio)



Joachim Loew (Coach), Hansi Flick (Assistant Coach), Andreas Koepcke (Goalkeeping Coach), Shad Forsythe (Fitness Coach), Masaya Sakihana (Fitness Coach), Yann-Benjamin Kugel (Fitness Coach)

Oliver Bierhoff (Manager)

Medical Staff
Dr. Hans-Wilhelm Müller-Wohlfahrt (Doctor), Dr. Josef Schmitt (Doctor), Prof. Dr. Tim Meyer (Doctor), Dr. Lutz Hänsel (Doctor), Dr. Hans-Dieter Hermann (Psychologist), Klaus Eder (Physio), Christian Müller (Physio), Wolfgang Bunz (Physio), Christian Huhn (Physio)