THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Koevermans name India Probables for Nehru Cup

Wim Koevermans

Indian national team coach Wim Koevermans has named 37 players for the Preparatory Camp for the Nehru Cup 2012, which is scheduled to kick-off on August 23. The players will report to the camp on July 27.

“I’m happy to find players for the start of the preparation of the Nehru Cup and I’m looking forward to work with them and start developing the team together along with the support staff,” Dutchman Koevermans told.

Koevermans who watched the exploits of the Indian team in the AFC U-22 Championship in Muscat have also summoned seven players from the U-22 Team. Besides strikers Jeje Lalpekhlua and Manandeep Singh, midfielders Lalrindika Ralte, Milan Singh, Alwyn George, stopper-back Shouvik Ghosh and goalkeeper Gurpreet Singh Sandhu have also been named in the list of 37.

“In Muscat the U-22 boys did put up a good show. I felt it best to call some of them for the camp to see how they cope up with the Senior Team players. It’s a different level after all,” the new India coach added.



Arindam Bhattacharya (Mohun Bagan AC), Subrata Pal (Prayag United SC), Subhasish Roy Chowdhury (Dempo SC), Karanjit Singh (Salgaocar SC), Gurpreet Singh Sandhu (East Bengal Club)

Nirmal Chettri (Mohun Bagan AC), Nicolau Colaco (Salgaocar SC), Denzil Franco (Churchill Brothers SC), Raju Eknath Gaikwad (East Bengal Club), Souvik Ghosh (Pailan Arrows), Nallappan Mohanraj (Pune FC), Syed Rahim Nabi (Mohun Bagan AC), Rowilson Rodrigues (Dempo SC), Gouramangi Moirangthem Singh (Prayag United SC), Gurjinder Kumar Singh (Pune FC), Gurwinder Singh (East Bengal Club), Irungbam Khelemba Singh (Mohun Bagan AC)

Joaquim Abranches (Dempo SC), Denson Devadas (Mohun Bagan AC), Francis Fernandes (Salgaocar SC), Alwyn George (Pailan Arrows), Mehtab Hossain (East Bengal Club), Adil Ahmed Khan (Sporting Clube de Goa), Rocus Lamare (Salgaocar SC), Clifford Miranda (Dempo SC), Gilbert Oliviera (Salgaocar SC), Anthony Pereira (Dempo SC), Sanju Pradhan (East Bengal Club), Jewel Raja Sheikh (Mohun Bagan AC), Lalrindika Ralte (East Bengal Club), Baldeep Singh (Prayag United SC), Ongnam Milan Singh (Pailan Arrows),

Sunil Chhetri (Sporting Clube de Portugal ‘B’), Jeje Lalpekhlua (Pune FC), Manandeep Singh (East Bengal Club), Robin Singh (East Bengal Club), Sushil Kumar Singh (Shillong Lajong FC)

Wim Koevermans (Head Coach)