THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Marco Reus named German Footballer of the Year

Marco Reus

Marco Reus has been named German Footballer of the Year 2012 in the traditional voting conducted by the ‘kicker’ magazine amongst German sports journalists.

The 23-year-old German international joined Borussia Dortmund from Borussia Mönchengladbach for the 2012/13 season. Reus was able to impress at Mönchengladbach in the concluded Bundesliga season and he has been a live wire for his old club.

Reus clinched the prestigious title ahead of the Borussia Dortmund trio of Mats Hummels, Robert Lewandowski and Shinji Kagawa (now Manchester United). The youngster is the first Mönchengladbach layer to win the award after a gap of 25 years.

“I’m very proud because this achievement will last forever,” Reus told to the colleagues at ‘kicker’. “This award is an incentive for me to keep pushing and to play an even better season.”

“I’m just at the beginning of my career. I’ve not reached the climax of my development at an age of 23. Experience will be a crucial factor which will be a key in the coming year,” Reus added.

Meanwhile, Célia Okoyino da Mbabi (SC Bad Neuenahr) has been named Germany’s Women’s Footballer of the Year 2012. Okoyino da Mbabi tops the list ahead of Genoveva Anonma (Turbine Potsdam) and Alexandra Popp (FCR 2001 Duisburg).

Borussia Dortmund coach Jürgen Klopp has clinched the German Coach of the Year 2012 award with 496 votes. Lucien Favre (Borussia Mönchengladbach) and Christian Streich (SC Freiburg) completes the ‘Top 3’.

The official voting for the top awards in German football is conducted by the ‘kicker’ magazine since 1960.

Please like to get all the latest news from the world of football!

German Footballer of the Year 2012 | TOP 15 (Men)

1. Marco Reus (Borussia Mönchengladbach | 217 Votes)
2. Mats Hummels (Borussia Dortmund | 108 Votes)
3. Robert Lewandowski (Borussia Dortmund | 95 Votes)
4. Shinji Kagawa (Borussia Dortmund | 66 Votes)
5. Sami Khedira (Real Madrid CF | 50 Votes)
6. Mesut Özil (Real Madrid CF | 44 Votes)
7. Mario Gomez (FC Bayern München | 41 Votes)
8. Klaas Jan Huntelaar (FC Schalke 04 | 35 Votes)
9. Raul Gonzalez Blanco (FC Schalke 04 | 31 Votes)
10. Manuel Neuer (FC Bayern München | 31 Votes)
11. Philipp Lahm (FC Bayern München | 17 Votes)
12. Sebastian Kehl (Borussia Dortmund | 15 Votes)
13. Frank Ribery (FC Bayern München | 14 Votes)
14. Bastan Schweinsteiger (FC Bayern München | 12 Votes)
15. Mario Götze (Borussia Dortmund | 11 Votes)

Please like to get all the latest news from the world of football!