THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

East Bengal and Churchill drawn to interesting AFC Cup groups

East Bengal Club v Pune FC

India’s representatives East Bengal Club and Churchill Brothers SC have been drawn into interesting groups at the AFC Cup 2013 draw ceremony at the AFC House today.

Federation Cup winners East Bengal will lock horns with Tampines Rovers, Selangor and Saigon Xuan Thanh in Group H.

Churchill Brothers SC, who entered the tournament due to I-League champions Dempo SC’s withdrawal, have been drawn to Group E along with Kitchee, Singapore Armed Forces FC and Semen Padang.

“This tournament has been dominated by clubs from the West but teams from ASEAN and South Asia are progressing well and let’s not forget the introduction of representatives from Tajikistan who are participating for the first time,” AFC General Secretary Dato’ Alex Soosay told during the draw ceremony.


Group A
Safa (LIB), Kuwait SC (KUW), Riffa (BHR), Playoff winner*
*Al Wahda (SYR) face Yemen cup champions with the winner playing Regar TadAZ (TJK)

Group B
Arbil (IRQ), Al Ansar (LIB), Fanja (OMN), Muharraq (BHR)

Group C
Al Faisaly (JOR), Duhok (IRQ), Al Shaab Ibb (YEM), Dhofar (OMN)

Group D
Al Qadsia (KUW), Al Ramtha (JOR), FC Ravshan (TJK), Al Shorta (SYR)

Group E
Kitchee (HKG), Singapore Armed Forces FC (SIN), Semen Padang (INA), Churchill Brothers (IND)

Group F
Yangon United (MYA), Sunray Cave JC Sun Hei (HKG), New Radiant SC (MDV), Persibo (INA)

Group G
Kelantan (MAS), Ayeyawady (MYA), SHB Da Nang (VIE), Maziah Sports & Recreation Club (MDV)

Group H
Tampines Rovers (SIN), Selangor (MAS), Kingfisher East Bengal (IND), Saigon Xuan Thanh (VIE)