THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Ranti Martins Soleye voted Best Player of I-League 2012/13

Ranti Martins Soleye

Ranti Martins Soleye has been adjudged the “Best Player of I-League 2012/13”.

The Nigerian striker was chosen the “Best Player of the I-League” after votes from all the coaches and captains of all I-League teams which played in the last edition of the league. Ranti who played for Prayag United topped the goalscorer’s list with 27 goals to his name.

Ranti also bagged the Award for the “Best Forward of the I-League”.

Besides, Churchill Brothers midfielder Lenny Rodrigues was chosen as the “Best Midfielder for the League”. The national team medio played a stellar role as Churchill Brothers landed the I-League title for the second time.

Meanwhile, former Churchill Brothers goalkeeper Sandip Nandy was adjudged the “Best Goalkeeper” while East Bengal defender Uga Okpara was voted the “Best Defender”.

All the players were chosen as winners after voting from all the coaches and captains of I-League clubs.

The best coach for the I-League 2012/13 will be decided in the next AIFF Executive Committee meeting.


Best Player
#1 Ranti Martins
#2 Lenny Rodrigues
#3 Douhou Pierre

Best Goalkeeper
#1 Sandip Nandy
#2 Karanjit Singh
#3 Subhasish Roychowdhury

Best Defender
#1 Uga Okpara
#2 Bello Razzak
#3 Bilal Najjarin

Best Midfielder
#1 Lenny Rodrigues
#2 Douhou Pierre
#3 Mehtab Hossain

Best Forward
#1 Ranti Martins
#2 Chidi Edeh
#3 James Moga

(Report & Picture courtesy AIFF Media)