THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Bayern Munich advance to Telekom Cup 2013 final

Telekom Cup 2013

UEFA Champions League winners FC Bayern Munich will face Borussia Moenchengladbach in the final of the Telekom Cup 2013 on Sunday.

The Telekom Cup, a pre-season tournament, is hosted at the Borussia-Park in Moenchengladbach this year. The tournament was launched in 2009 as the T-Home Cup before it was re-branded the Liga total!-Cup. This year the competition has seen another change in its name and it features four teams namely Borussia Dortmund, Borussia Moenchengladbach, FC Bayern Munich and Hamburger SV.

The Telekom Cup kicked-off with the two semifinals, while the 3rd place match and the final will be played tomorrow. The matches have a duration of 60 minutes (2 x 30 minutes), while a draw would automatically set-up a penalty shoot-out.

Semifinal 1

1-0 Filip Daems (60′)

The first semifinal was a quite interesting game despite the high temperatures. Borussia Dortmund looked the better side, but Moenchengladbach didn’t surrender infront of their home crowd. Brazilian Raffael had the first chance for the hosts in the 7th minute, but his shot didn’t test Dortmund keeper Roman Weidenfeller too much.
Moenchengladbach keeper Marc-André ter Stegen almost gave away a goal to Dortmund in the second half, when the keeper failed to clear the ball properly and Sebastian Kehl almost took advance of the blunder.
Both sides were settling for a draw and a penalty shoot-out, when Raffael went down in the Dortmund box after a foul by Weidenfeller. Referee Guido Winkmann awarded Moenchengladbach a penalty and Filip Daems made no mistake to put the ball into the back of the net.


Borussia Moenchengladbach
ter Stegen – Korb, Stranzl, Brouwers, Daems – Kramer, Xhaka – Rupp, Younes – Raffael, Kruse

Borussia Dortmund
Weidenfeller – Großkreutz, Hummels, Sokratis, Schmelzer – Bender (31′ Durm), Sahin – Hofmann, Reus, Gündogan (31′ Kehl) – Lewandowski (43′ Schieber)

Semifinal 2

0-1 Jérôme Boateng (12′)
0-2 Mario Mandzukic (41′)
0-3 Toni Kroos (44′)
0-4 Thomas Müller (52′)

Bayern Munich dominated the game right from kick-off and the Bavarians put early pressure on Hamburg. The North Germans were lucky in the first ten minutes as keeper Jaroslav Drobný denied Bayern the lead with a few superb saves. But Bayern broke the deadlock in the 12th minute, when Jérôme Boateng slotted home a rebound off a double save by Drobný against Claudio Pizzaro. Pep Guardiola’s team decelerated after the lead, but they didn’t gave away the game to Hamburg.
The second half didn’t produce too many highlights until Bayern scored their second goal of the match. Thiago provided a great long ball to the Hamburg box, which Franck Ribéry laid-off to Mario Mandzukic with a one-touch pass. Mandzukic made no mistake and put it past Drobný.
Toni Kroos increased the lead the lead with a long-ranger, while Thomas Müller headed home the fourth goal for the Bavarians.


Hamburger SV
Drobný – Sala (48′ Mancienne), Sobiech, Westermann, Jansen (48′ Rajkovic) – Badelj (48′ Rincón), Arslan (48′ Demirbay) – Beister (48′ Jiracek), van der Vaart (48′ Calhanoglu), Ilicevic (48′ Skjelbred) – Zoua (48′ Rudnevs)

FC Bayern Munich
Starke – Lahm, Van Buyten, Boateng (48′ Kirchhoff), Alaba – Thiago (48′ Hojbjerg) – Kroos, Shaqiri, Ribery (53′ Green) – Mandzukic (42′ Müller) – Pizarro (42′ Robben)