THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

The UEFA Champions League group stage draw is out

UEFA Champions League Trophy

The UEFA Champions League group stage draw took place at the Grimaldi Forum in Monaco at 17.45 CET and it has produced interesting groups for the 2013-14 season of the competition.

The draw ceremony was hosted by former Miss Switzerland Melanie Winiger and popular sports presenter Pedro Pinto. Former legends Luís Figo, Billy McNeill, Johan Cryuff, Michael Owen and Paulo Sousa were the ones who drew the lots.

The draw featured 32 teams including 14 previous winners of the UEFA Champions League, while FK Austria Wien made their debut.

Defending champions FC Bayern Munich led the the top tier of seeds in Pot 1, which also featured FC Barcelona, Chelsea FC, Real Madrid CF, Manchester United FC, Arsenal FC, FC Porto and SL Benfica.

A total of 22 teams automatically entered the 2013-14 UEFA Champions League group stage with the remaining slots taken by the ten sides who come through the qualifiers.

In total, clubs from 18 different national associations will play in the group stage, with England, Spain and Germany the best represented with a quartet of teams.

The UEFA Champions League group stage will kick-off on September 17, while the Final is scheduled to take place at the Estádio do Sport Lisboa e Benfica on May 24, 2014.


Group A
Manchester United FC, FC Shakhtar Donetsk, Bayer 04 Leverkusen, Real Sociedad de Fútbol

Group B
Real Madrid CF, Juventus, Galatasaray AŞ, FC København

Group C
SL Benfica, Paris Saint-Germain FC, Olympiacos FC, RSC Anderlecht

Group D
FC Bayern München, PFC CSKA Moskva, Manchester City FC, FC Viktoria Plzeň

Group E
Chelsea FC, FC Schalke 04, FC Basel 1893, FC Steaua Bucureşti

Group F
Arsenal FC, Olympique de Marseille, Borussia Dortmund, SSC Napoli

Group G
FC Porto, Club Atlético de Madrid, FC Zenit, FK Austria Wien

Group H
FC Barcelona, AC Milan, AFC Ajax, Celtic FC