THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Cristiano Ronaldo wins the FIFA Ballon d’Or 2014 Award

FIFA Ballon d’Or

FIFA Ballon d’Or

Cristiano Ronaldo has won the prestigious FIFA Ballon d’Or 2014, while Nadine Kessler was named the 2014 FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year.

The winners in the various categories were announced during a festive Award Ceremony at the Kongresshaus, Zurich (Switzerland) on Monday evening with stars and celebrities from the football world, walk of fame and politics in the attendance. Sky Sports News anchorwoman Kate Abdo was the host of the evening, which started with a welcome speech by FIFA President Joseph S. Blatter.

Cristiano Ronaldo was able to claim the FIFA Ballon d’Or ahead of Lionel Messi and Manuel Neuer. “I would like to thank all of those who voted for me. It has been an incredible year,” Ronaldo said.

“I would like to continue the work that I have done so far. I want to try to improve, to become better as each day goes by. I never thought that I would bring this trophy back home on three occasions. I want to become one of the greatest players of all time.”

German women’s international and VfL Wolfsburg star Nadine Kessler collected the FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year award ahead of Brazil international Marta and US international Abby Wambach.”My heart is beating so fast! After the tragedy of losing Junior Malanda at our club, we are having trouble coming to terms with understanding what has happened in the last few days,” an overwhelmed Kessler told.

“I would like to say thankyou to a great many people, my coach and my teammates, without their work this achievement would not have been possible. I will share this award with all of those people.”

Germany’s 2014 FIFA World Cup winning national team coach Joachim Löw won the FIFA Men’s Football Coach of the Year, while the FIFA Women’s Football Coach of the Year Ralf Kellermann of the VfL Wolfsburg Women’s team.

“It is the icing on the cake, the cake being the World Cup. I know this award is not just for me, I am taking it here on behalf of all those who have assisted,” Löw told during his speech. “We have had excellent conditions to produce what we have been able to produce. It’s a consequence of many years of hard work. I’d like to say thank you to all of the German coaches who do so much with the young players every day. What would a coach be without a fantastic team? To all the other guys who are not here, my gratitude to you is eternal, you are world class. It is a gift to me to be able to work with you.”

2014 FIFA World Cup sensation James Rodríguez was awarded the FIFA Puskas Award for his wonderful goal against Uruguay during the tournament in Brazil.

Senior Japanese journalist Hiroshi Kagawa was honoured for his outstanding achivements with the FIFA Presidential Award. The 90 year old journalist has covered ten FIFA World Cups during his career.

Cristiano Ronaldo
Lionel Messi
Manuel Neuer


FIFA Ballon d’Or
Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid CF & Portugal national team)

FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year
Nadine Kessler (VfL Wolfsburg Women’s & Germany Women’s national team)

FIFA Men’s Football Coach of the Year
Joachim Löw (Germany national team)

FIFA Women’s Football Coach of the Year
Ralf Kellermann (VfL Wolfsburg Women’s)

FIFA Presidential Award
Hiroshi Kagawa (Journalist / Japan)

FIFA Fair Play Award
The FIFA Fair Play Award is awarded to all FIFA VOLUNTEERS at all FIFA tournaments!

FIFA Puskas Award
James Rodríguez (Colombia)
Goal against Uruguay in the 2014 FIFA World Cup

Manuel Neuer (FC Bayern Munich & Germany); Philipp Lahm (FC Bayern Munich & Germany), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid CF & Spain), David Luiz (Paris Saint-Germain & Brazil), Thiago Silva (Paris Saint-Germain & Brazil); Andrés Iniesta (FC Barcelona & Spain), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid CF & Germany), Ángel di María (Manchester United & Argentina); Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid CF & Portugal), Lionel Messi (FC Barcelona & Argentina), Arjen Robben (FC Bayern Munich & Netherlands)