THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Nepal announce final squad to face India

2018 FIFA World Cup - Nepal

2018 FIFA World Cup - Nepal

Nepal head coach Jack Stefanowski has announced a 24-member squad for the 2018 FIFA World Cup and 2019 AFC Asian Cup Preliminary Joint Qualification Round 1 against India.

Stefanowski has called-up four players, namely Anjan Bista, Dinesh Rajbanshi, Ananta Tamang and Bimal Gharti Magar, from the U-17 national team to the senior team.

Sagar Thapa will be the captain of the Nepal national team to take on India at Guwahati on March 12 and in the return leg in Kathmandu on March 17.

The Nepal national team will leave for Kolkata on Saturday (March 7). Stefanowski will conduct a two-day training camp in Kolkata before the team continue their journey to Guwahati.


Kiran Chemjong (Three Star Club), Ritesh Thapa (Nepal Police Club), Bikesh Kuthu (Nepal Army)

Ananta Tamang (Far Western FC), Biraj Maharjan (Manang Marshyangdi Club), Dinesh Rajbanshi (Far Western FC), Rabin Shrestha (Nepal Police Club), Ranjit Dhimal (Three Star), Rohit Chand (Persija Jakarta), Sagar Thapa (Captain, Three Star Club), Sandip Rai (Three Star Club)

Bhola Silwal (Nepal Police Club), Bikram Lama (Three Star Club), Bishal Rai B (Manang Marshyangdi Club), Heman Gurung (APF), Jagjeet Shrestha (Three Star Club), Raju Tamang (Nepal Army), Shiva Shrestha (Manang Marshyangdi Club)

Bimal Gharti Magar (KRC Genk Academy, Belgium), Jumanu Rai (Nepal Police Club), Santosh Sahukhala (Three Star Club), Anil Gurung (Manang Marshyangdi Club), Anjan Bista (Armed Police Force Club), Bharat Khawas (Nepal Army)