THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Malabar Premier League (MPL) set to kick-off on April 7

Malabar Premier League (MPL)

Malabar Premier League (MPL)

The new Malabar Premier League (MPL) is gearing up to kick-off on April 7, 2015 with the aim to strengthen football and groom new talent in Malappuram District, one of the most craziest football regions in Kerala.

The MPL, launched by the Malappuram District Sports Council with support from the Kerala Football Association (KFA) and the Malappuram District Football Association (MDFA), will be a franchise-based league similar to the successful Hero Indian Super League (ISL).

A total of eight franchise teams will take part in the inaugural season of the MPL. The teams have been named Basco Blasters (Othukkungal), Ernad Stallions (Manjeri), MSP Delta Force (Malappuram), Spartans Tirur (Tirur), Soccer Sultans (Areekode), Super Fighters (Malappuram), Titans (Mampad) and Valluvanadu Warriors (Mankada).

The matches of the inaugural Malabar Premier League season will be played at the Kottappadi Football Stadium in Malappuram and the Payyanad Football Stadium in Manjeri.

The MPL logo and the mascot were unveiled earlier this month by P. K. Kunhalikutty, Minister for Industries and Information Technology, Government of Kerala and former Indian international I.M. Vijayan. The MPL will also release an official MPL theme song featuring Sayanora on March 26.

Visit the official Malabar Premier League (MPL) website for more details: