THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Ancheri, CV Pappachan, NP Pradeep amongst MPL Celebrity Players

I.M. Vijayan - Malabar Premier League (MPL)
I.M. Vijayan - Malabar Premier League (MPL)

Picture courtesy: Malabar Premier League (MPL)

The Malabar Premier League (MPL) has announced the eight Celebrity Players who will be part of the eight franchise teams in the inaugural season of the competition.

The list of Celebrity Players is headed by former Indian national team captain and two-time AIFF Player of the Year Jo Paul Ancheri. Ancheri will be part of the Spartans Tirur (Tirur) squad.

Former Indian internationals CV Pappachan (Basco Blasters, Othukkungal) and Naduparambil Pappachen Pradeep (Super Fighters, Malappuram) are two other popular footballers who will take on the pitch in “God’s Own Country”. Pradeep was most recently part of the Chennaiyin FC team which played in the Hero Indian Super League (ISL).

MA Abdul Hakeem (Ernad Stallions, Manjeri), Kurikesh Mathew (MSP Delta Force, Malappuram), Asif Saheer (Titans, Mampad), U. Sharafali (Soccer Sultans, Areekode) and KT Chacko (Valluvanadu Warriors, Mankada) complete the list of MPL Celebrity Players.

Former Indian national team superstar I.M. Vijayan will be the “Icon of MPL”.

The new Malabar Premier League (MPL) is scheduled to kick-off on April 11, 2015. The matches will be played at the Kottappadi Football Stadium in Malappuram and the Payyanad Football Stadium in Manjeri.