THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Orbis School, St. Mary’s clinch inaugural Orbis-Pune FC Invitational Cup

Orbis-Pune FC Invitational Under-14 Football Tournament

Orbis-Pune FC Invitational Under-14 Football Tournament

The Orbis School, Keshavnagar and Camp-based St. Mary’s High School emerged victorious in the Boys and the Girls sections respectively of the inaugural Orbis-Pune FC Invitational Under-14 Football Tournament held at the Orbis School Grounds recently.

The first-of-its-kind tournament saw participation from twenty teams in both sections and was played across two days.

In the Boys section, it was the Orbis School who came out on top among twelve teams. Having beaten Sardar Dastur Boys ‘A’ in a thrilling penalty shootout in the semifinals, the hosts clinched in the final with a 2-1 win over Pawar Public School thanks to goals from Darshan Rao and Ayush Vatal in a hotly contested encounter.

Meanwhile, in the Girls section it was St. Mary’s who came out of top after a dominant show throughout the competition. The girls from the camp-based schools hammered 27 unanswered goals in 5 games to be crowned as undisputed champions. In the big final, goals from Gia Sundaram and Ramona Kodkani along with an own goal helped them brush aside Mercedes Benz International School 3-0.

The eight participating teams in the Girls’ section included Anglo Urdu Girls HS, Dr. Mar Thephilus School, Mercedes Benz IS, Amanora HS, Vatsalya Public School, St. Mary’s HS, The Orbis School and Sunrise EMS (Teach for India).

In the boys section, the twelve teams included the Orbis School, Amanora School, Vatsalya Public School, Sardar Dastur Boys ‘A’ & ‘B’, St. Arnold’s School, Pune Police Public School, Pawar Public School, Erin Nosh Nagarwala School, Sardar Dastur Co-ed, Indus International School and Dr. Mar Thephilus School.

The winners and runners up and were handed trophies by Pune FC’s Portuguese winger Edgar Marcelino along with Mr. Ajeya Row (Head, Pune FC Soccer Schools), Ms. Mala Jetly (Principal, Orbis School), Mr. Razi Faquih (Director, Orbis School) and Mr. Haseeb Faquih.


BOYS, Final
Orbis School: 2 (Darshan Rao 3’, Ayush Vatal 6’) b Pawar Public School: 1 (Aayush Jadhav 4’)

Orbis School: 1 (3) (Mihir Dangwal 2’) b Dastur Boys ‘A’: 1 (Sriram Mahashikare 6’) via tie-breaker
Pawar Public School: 1 (Richard Jacob 2’) b Indus International School: 0

GIRLS, Final
St.Mary’s HS: 3 (Gia Sundaram 12’, Ramona Kodkani 13’, Own Goal) b Mercedes Benz International School: 0

Mercedes Benz International School: 1 (Laura Steinicke 6’) b Sunrise EMS: 0
St. Mary’s HS: 3 (Aishwarya Gadekar 2’, 6’, 10’) b Anglo Urdu Girls HS: 0


Highest Goalscorer: Aishwarya Gadekar (12 goals) (St.Mary’s High School)
Best Goalkeeper: Franziska Prax (Mercedes Benz International School)
Best Player: Nandini Tupe (St.Mary’s High School)

Highest Goalscorer: Mohit Nandargi (3 goals) (Pawar Public School)
Best Goalkeeper: Raj Panday (The Orbis School)
Best Player: Richard Jacob (Pawar Public School)