THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

UEFA EURO 2016 finals draw conducted in Paris



The UEFA EURO 2016 finals draw took place in Paris on Saturday evening as 24 national teams found out who they will meet at next summer’s tournament in France.

The European Championship will feature 24 teams for the first time since the number of participants has been increased from the 16 to have competed in previous editions.

The 23 qualifiers were divided into four pots based on UEFA national coefficients, while tournament hosts France were automatically assigned as team A1. The remaining 23 national teams were drawn into six groups of four.

Former star footballers Ruud Gullit and Bixente Lizarazu hosted the event, while Oliver Bierhoff, Angelos Charisteas, Antonín Panenka and David Trezeguet were part of the Draw Ceremony which produced interesting UEFA EURO 2016 groups.

Hosts France will face Romania, Albania and Switzerland in Group A, while defending champions Spain have been drawn to Group D together with Czech Republic, Turkey and Croatia.

World champions Germany will take on Ukraine, Poland and Northern Ireland in Group C in their quest to win the European Championship.

The winners and runners-up in each of the groups will progress into the Round of 16 knockout stage and will be joined by the four best third-placed sides.

The UEFA EURO 2016 matches will be played at Stade de Bordeaux (Bordeaux), Stade Bollaert-Delelis (Lens), Stade Pierre Mauroy (Lille), Stade de Lyon (Lyon), Stade Vélodrome (Marseille), Stade de Nice (Nice), Parc des Princes (Paris), Stade de France (Saint-Denis, Paris), Stade Geoffroy Guichard (Saint-Etienne) and Stadium de Toulouse (Toulouse).

The opening match France v Romania will take place at the Stade de France on June 10, while the Final will be hosted at the same venue on July 10.


Group A
France, Romania, Albania, Switzerland

Group B
England, Russia, Wales, Slovakia

Group C
Germany, Ukraine, Poland, Northern Ireland

Group D
Spain, Czech Republic, Turkey, Croatia

Group E
Belgium, Italy, Republic of Ireland, Sweden

Group F
Portugal, Iceland, Austria, Hungary