THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Roy Hodgson names provisional England squad for UEFA EURO 2016

England national football team

England manager Roy Hodgson has named his provisional England squad for the UEFA EURO 2016.

The 26-member squad has a few surprise call-ups including Manchester United youngster Marcus Rashford.

Hodgson will assess the squad at a preparation camp starting on May 18 at the St. George’s Park. The preparations will also include two friendly matches on May 22 (v Turkey) and May 27 (v Australia).

The final 23-member squad will be submitted to UEFA on May 31.


Tom Heaton (Burnley), Fraser Forster (Southampton), Joe Hart (Manchester City)

Ryan Bertrand (Southampton), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Nathaniel Clyne (Liverpool), Danny Rose (Tottenham Hotspur), Chris Smalling (Manchester United), John Stones (Everton), Kyle Walker (Tottenham Hotspur)

Dele Alli (Tottenham Hotspur), Ross Barkley (Everton), Fabian Delph (Manchester City), Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur), Danny Drinkwater (Leicester City), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Adam Lallana (Liverpool), James Milner (Liverpool), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Andros Townsend (Newcastle United), Jack Wilshere (Arsenal)

Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool), Jamie Vardy (Leicester City), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United)