THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

2016/17 UEFA Champions League group stage draw conducted in Monaco

UEFA Champions League Final Cardiff 2017

The 25th UEFA Champions League group stage took place in Monaco moments ago and it has produced interesting groups for the 2016/17 season.

Defending champions Real Madrid will face tough opposition on their mission to defend the title as the La Liga giants will take on Borussia Dortmund, Sporting Clube de Portugal and Polish side Legia in Group F.

Last year’s runners-up Atlético Madrid are set to clash of with one of the other title contenders in FC Bayern Munich in Group D, while PSV Eindhoven and Russian club Rostov complete the group.

New Manchester City FC manager Pep Guardiola will be returning to his former club FC Barcelona, as both sides have been drawn to Group C. Germany’s Borussia Mönchengladbach and Scottish giants Celtic will be the two other teams in an interesting group.

The 2016/17 UEFA Champions League final will be played in Cardiff on June 3, 2017. It will be the first UEFA Champions League final to be staged in Wales.

Meanwhile, UEFA have announced that a total of more than €1.3bn will be shared among the clubs participating in the 2016/17 UEFA Champions League and UEFA Super Cup.


Group A
Paris Saint-Germain (FRA), Arsenal FC (ENG), FC Basel (SUI), PFK Ludogorets Razgrad (BUL)

Group B
SL Benfica (POR), SSC Napoli (ITA), Dynamo Kyiv (UKR), Besiktas J.K. (TUR)

Group C
FC Barcelona (ESP), Manchester City FC (ENG), Borussia Mönchengladbach (GER), Celtic FC (SCO)

Group D
FC Bayern Munich (GER), Clube Atlético de Madrid (ESP), PSV Eindhoven (NED), FK Rostow (RUS)

Group E
CSKA Moskva (RUS), Bayer 04 Leverkusen (GER), Tottenham Hotspur (ENG), AS Monaco (FRA)

Group F
Real Madrid CF (ESP), Borussia Dortmund (GER), Sporting Clube de Portugal (POR), Legia Warszawa (POL)

Group G
Leicester City FC (ENG), FC Porto (POR), Club Brugge (BEL), FC København (DEN)

Group H
Juventus (ITA), Sevilla FC (ESP), Olympique Lyonnais (FRA), Dinamo Zagreb (CRO)