THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Vidya Bhavan emerge Aspire India School 5s champs

Vidya Bhavan emerge Aspire India School 5s champs (Photo courtesy: Aspire India Football)

Vidya Bhavan HS emerged undisputed winners after they downed Hume McHenry School to lift the Aspire India Bajaj Allianz-Aspire India School 5s Under-12 Invitational Football Tournament, at the Freekick Turfs, Baner, on Sunday.

In a nail-biting final that went down to the wire, Vidya Bhavan staged a comeback before walking tall 4-1 in the tiebreaker win after sharing a goal each at the end of regulation time and extra-time respectively.

Hume McHenry had Abusufiyan Shaikh net in the first half, before Vidya Bhavan found their saviour in Kshitij Kokate who convery a penalty kick the second half. Extra-time thereafter ended without a change in scoreline leading to the tie breaker.

Harshawardhan Dhumal, Aryan Sahu, Yashraj Botre scored to swing the match Vidya Bhavan’s favour, while Hume McHenry failed to score.

Earlier, in the semis, Vidya Bhavan beat SSPMS Boarding 3-1, while Hume McHenry School put out Indira National School 3-0.

Later the prizes were distributed by Kailash Wani, Branch Head, Pune, Bajaj Allianz Life Insurance, Nitin Joshi, of Sports Connect and Bhushan Kirad, of Freekick Football Turfs.


FINAL: Vidya Bhavan H.S: 1 (3) (Kshitij Kokate; Harshawardhan Dhumal, Aryan Sahu, Yashraj Botre) b Hume McHenry 1 (0) (Abusufiyan Shaikh)

SF1: Vidya Bhavan H.S: 3 (Harshawardhan Dhumal 2, Kshitij Kokate) b SSPMS Boarding: 1 (Pranay Basankar)

SF2: Hume McHenry School: 3 (Abusufiyan Shaikh 2, Fazal Tamboli) b Indira National School: 0


Best Player of Tournament: Kshitij Kokate (Vidya Bhavan)

Top Scorer: Harshavardhan Pawar (SSPMS Boarding; 17 goals)

Best Goalkeeper: Akshan Bansal (Vibgyor High, Balewadi)

Top Goalscorer, U-10: Sai Patil (GG International, Pimpri; 6 goals)

Promising U-10 Player: Fazal Tamboli (Hume McHenry)

Upcoming Talents School 5s: Arin Deshmukh (Vibgyor High, Balewadi); Zek Memon (Ornellas H.S); Ubaid Ansari (Ideal English School, Hadapsar); Aaron Aigner (GIIS, Chinchwad); Manav Undre (Pawar Public School, Hadapsar)

Outstanding Performers Of The Day: Abusufiyan Shaikh (Hume McHenry) & Vihaan Bagri (Indira National School, Wakad)

(Aspire India Football Press Release)