THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Udanta Singh named Player of the Year at Bengaluru FC Awards Night

Awardees of the Bengaluru FC Awards Night (left to right): Lalrinzuala Lalbiaknia, Udanta Singh, Nishu Kumar, Sunil Chhetri and Nihal Iqbal (Photo courtesy: Bengaluru FC)

Udanta Singh capped off a fantastic year by being named the “Players’ Player of the Season” as well as the “Fans’ Player of the Season” at the annual Bengaluru FC Awards Night, in the city, on Thursday. Joining the youngster with two awards of his own was skipper Sunil Chhetri who walked away with the “Top scorer of the Season” and the “Goal of the Season” gong, while Nishu Kumar was named most-improved player.

The twenty-year-old winger who has been with the Blues for three seasons now, turned out to be a vital cog in Albert Roca’s scheme of things and his consistent performances made him a unanimous choice in the dressing room and the stands.

With a fully functional residential academy in place, this season’s awards night also included recognition for the best players in the U-14, U-16 and U-18 academy sides. Defender Nihal Iqbal picked up the U-14 award while Lalrinzuala Lalbiaknia and Ajay Chhetri picked up the U-16 and U-18 awards respectively.

With 12 strikes since the club’s progress to the 2016 AFC Cup quarterfinals, Chhetri bagged the top-scorer award for a fourth consecutive season while his turn and strike against Johor Darul Ta’zim in the second leg of the semifinal, gave him the Goal of the Season accolade.

(Bengaluru FC)