THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

46 footballers suspended by the Goa FA for participating in an unregistered tournament

Goa Football Association (GFA)

The Goa Football Association (GFA) has suspended 46 professional players for participating in an unregistered tournament in the state recently with some of the players well known Goan footballers playing in I-League and Indian Super League teams. The list contains some of the biggest names in Goan football.

The GFA has evidence in the form of photographs and videos, and issued show-cause notices to all the erring players, asking them to reply withing seven days as to why further disciplinary action should not be taken against them.

The GFA has asked all the footballers to surrender their playing license immediately.

Players who took part in the three-day tournament from May 26 to 28 include established names such as Romeo Fernandes (East Bengal Club), Brandon Fernandes, Keenan Almeida and Adil Khan (all Churchill Brothers SC).

The suspended players also include former India internationals Samir Naik, Joaquim Abranches, Victorino Fernandes, Peter Carvalho, Nicolau Colaco and Micky Fernandes.

A total of 14 players suspended were part of the Goa Santosh Trophy squad that lost the final against Bengal earlier this year.

The GFA regulations call for a one-year ban on players or officials for taking part in an unrecognised tournament.

Complete List of suspended players
Romeo Fernandes, Gabriel Fernandes, Brandon Fernandes, Keenan Almeida, Joshua Vaz, Kingslee Fernandes, Anthony D’Souza, Agnelo Colaco, Seriton Fernandes, Victorino Fernandes, Joaquim Abranches, Samir Naik, Velito Cruz, Don Bosco Fernandes, Joaquim Carvalho, Jovel Martins, Mauvin Borges, Bharat Thapa, Clencio Pinto, Suraj Hadkonkar, Franzil Negredo, Micky Fernandes, Richard Costa, Nicholas Fernandes, Alesh Sawant, Joy Ferrao, Melwin Lobo, Jessel Carneiro, Peter Carvalho, Latesh Mandrekar, Lenny Pereira, Brian Mascarenhas, Leander D’Cunha, Marcus Mascarenhas, Mario Mascarenhas, Aaren D’Silva, Melroy Fernandes, Bruno Colaco, Nicolau Colaco, Cajetan Fernandes, Glan Martins, Raju Haldankar, Aniston Fernandes, Jyotesh Palkar, Tyson Caiado, Adil Khan