THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

FIFA announce shortlisted candidates for The Best FIFA Football Awards

The Best FIFA Football Awards

Today, FIFA announced the shortlisted candidates for four individual trophies, which will be presented at The Best FIFA Football Awards™ ceremony in London on 23 October 2017.

Two panels of renowned experts from across the six confederations have decided upon the shortlisted candidates for the top performers of the 2016/17 season. The men’s awards recognise achievements from 20 November 2016 to 2 July 2017, and the women’s awards take into account the period between 20 November 2016 and 6 August 2017.

Award Categories & Shortlisted Candidates

The Best FIFA Men’s Player* – 24 candidates shortlisted*
Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (GAB – Borussia Dortmund), Leonardo Bonucci (ITA – Juventus/AC Milan), Gianluigi Buffon (ITA – Juventus), Dani Carvajal (ESP – Real Madrid), Cristiano Ronaldo (POR – Real Madrid), Paulo Dybala (ARG – Juventus), Antoine Griezmann (FRA – Atlético Madrid), Eden Hazard (BEL – Chelsea), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (SWE – Manchester United), Andres Iniesta (ESP – FC Barcelona), Harry Kane (ENG – Tottenham Hotspur), Ngolo Kante (FRA – Chelsea), Toni Kroos (GER – Real Madrid), Robert Lewandowski (POL – FC Bayern Munich), Marcelo (BRA – Real Madrid), Lionel Messi (ARG – FC Barcelona), Luka Modric (CRO – Real Madrid), Keylor Navas (CRC – Real Madrid), Manuel Neuer (GER – FC Bayern Munich), Neymar (BRA – FC Barcelona/Paris Saint-Germain), Sergio Ramos (ESP – Real Madrid), Alexis Sanchez (CHI – Arsenal), Luis Suarez (URU – FC Barcelona), Arturo Vidal (CHI – FC Bayern Munich)

*The original shortlist was due to include 23 players. As the voting process resulted in a tie for 23rd position, the list was increased to 24 names.

The Best FIFA Men’s Coach** – 12 candidates shortlisted**
Massimiliano Allegri (ITA – Juventus), Carlo Ancelotti (ITA – FC Bayern Munich), Antonio Conte (ITA – Chelsea), Luis Enrique (ESP – FC Barcelona), Pep Guardiola (ESP – Manchester City), Leonardo Jardim (POR – AS Monaco), Joachim Löw (GER – German national team), Jose Mourinho (POR – Manchester United), Mauricio Pochettino (ARG – Tottenham Hotspur), Diego Simeone (ARG – Atlético Madrid), Tite (BRA – Brazilian national team), Zinedine Zidane (FRA – Real Madrid)

** The original shortlist was due to include ten coaches. As the voting process resulted in a tie for tenth position, the list was increased to 12 names.

The Best FIFA Women’s Player – 10 candidates shortlisted
Lucy Bronze (ENG – Manchester City Women), Deyna Castellanos (VEN – Santa Clarita Blue Heat), Pernille Harder (DEN – Linkopings / VfL Wolfsburg (Women)), Sam Kerr (AUS – Perth Glory / Sky Blue FC), Carli Lloyd (USA – Houston Dash / Manchester City Women), Dzsenifer Marozsan (GER – Olympique Lyonnais Feminin), Lieke Martens (NED – FC Barcelona Femeni), Vivianne Miedema (NED – Arsenal Women), Wendie Renard (FRA – Olympique Lyonnais Feminin), Jodie Taylor (ENG – Arsenal Women)

The Best FIFA Women’s Coach – 10 candidates shortlisted
Olivier Echouafni (FRA – French national team), Emma Hayes (ENG – Chelsea Ladies), Ralf Kellermann (GER – VfL Wolfsburg), Xavi Llorens (ESP – FC Barcelona Femeni), Nils Nielsen (DEN – Danish national team), Florence Omagbemi (NGA – Nigerian national team), Gerard Precheur (FRA – Olympique Lyonnais Feminin), Dominik Thalhammer (AUT – Austrian national team), Sarina Wiegman (NED – Netherlands national team), Hwang Yong-Bong (PRK – Korea DPR / Korea DPR U-20 national teams)

Voting process for The Best FIFA Football Awards:
The winner of each of the four award categories above will be chosen by football stakeholders from around the world, meaning that:

• The captains of all national teams decide on 25 per cent of the results
• The head coaches of all national teams decide on 25 per cent of the results
• A public fan ballot on decides on 25 per cent of the results
• A group of over 200 members of the international media decides on 25 per cent of the results

The voting process for the men’s and women’s awards will open on 21 August and close on 7 September. FIFA will announce the final lists of the three nominees for each of the four categories listed above – as well as for the FIFA Puskás Award, the FIFA Fan Award and the brand new The Best FIFA Goalkeeper award – later in September.