THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Government of India announce winners of National Sports Awards

Minister of State (I/C) for Youth Affairs and Sports Shri Vijay Goel (Photo courtesy: Press Information Bureau, Government of India)

National Sports Awards are given every year to recognize and reward excellence in sports. Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is given for the spectacular and most outstanding performance in the field of sports by a sportsperson over a period of four year, Arjuna Award is given for consistency outstanding performance for four years, Dronacharya Award for coaches for producing medal winners at prestigious International sports events, Dhyan Chand Award for life time contribution to sports development.

A large number of nominations were received for these awards this year, which were considered by the Selection Committees consisting of former Olympian, Arjuna Awardees, Dronacharya Awardees, Dhyan Chand Awardees, Sport Journalists/ Experts/ Commentators and sports administrators. Selection Committee for Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award and Arjuna Awards was headed by Justice C.K. Thakkar (Former Judge Supreme Court of India, Chief Justice of High Court of Himachal and Bombay). Selection Committee for Dronacharya Awards and Dhyan Chand Awards was headed by Shri Pullela Gopichand.

Based on the recommendations of the Committee and after due scrutiny, the Government has decided to confer awards upon the following sportspersons/coaches/organisations:

(i)         Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna 2017

S. No. Name of the Awardee discipline
1.Shri DevendraPara Athlete
2.Shri Sardar SinghHockey

(ii)        Dronacharya Awards 2017

S. No.Name of the AwardeeDiscipline
1.Late Dr. R. GandhiAthletics
2.Mr. Heera Nand KatariaKabaddi
3.Mr. G.S.S.V. PrasadBadminton (Lifetime)
4.Mr. Brij Bhushan MohantyBoxing (Lifetime)
5.Mr. P.A. RaphelHockey (Lifetime)
6.Mr. Sanjoy ChakraverthyShooting (Lifetime)
7.Mr. Roshan LalWrestling (Lifetime)

(iii)       Arjuna Awards 2017

S. No.Name of the AwardeesDiscipline
1.Ms. V.J. SurekhaArchery
2.Ms. Khushbir KaurAthletics
3.Mr. Arokia RajivAthletics
4.Ms. Prasanthi SinghBasketball
5.Sub. LaishramDebendro SinghBoxing
6.Mr. CheteshwarPujaraCricket
7.Ms. Harmanpreet KaurCricket
8.Ms. OinamBembem DeviFootball
9.Mr. S.S.P. ChawrasiaGolf
10.Mr. S.V. SunilHockey
11.Mr. Jasvir SinghKabaddi
12.Mr. P. N. PrakashShooting
13.Mr. A. AmalrajTable Tennis
14.Mr. SakethMyneniTennis
15.Mr. SatyawartKadianWrestling
16.Mr. MariyappanPara-Athlete
17.Mr. Varun Singh BhatiPara-Athlete

(iv)       Dhyan Chand Award

S. No.Name (S/Shri)Discipline
1 .Mr. Bhupender SinghAthletics
2.Mr. Syed Shahid HakimFootball
3.Ms. Sumarai TeteHockey

The awardees will received their awards from the President of India at a specially organized function at the Rashtrapati Bhawan on August 29, 2017.

Apart from a medal and a citation, Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awardee will receive a cash prize of Rs. 7.5 lakh. Arjuna, Dronacharya and Dhyan Chand Awardees will received statuettes, certificates and cash prize of Rs. 5 lakh each.