THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Germany announce 21-member squad for FIFA U-17 World Cup India 2017

FIFA U-17 World Cup India 2017

Germany U-17 national team head coach Christian Wück has announced his squad for the FIFA U-17 World Cup India 2017.

The 21-member squad comprises 17 players who were part of the Germany U-17 team which reached the semifinals of the 2017 UEFA European Under-17 Championship earlier this year.

“We would like to take the positive trend of the European Championship with us to India,” head coach Christian Wück told. “The World Cup will be a big challenge at different levels which help the players to grow and mature.”

“We would like to stick to our attacking game: We set a goalscoring record at the European Championship – we are now looking to prove at a global stage that we are always capable to score one more goal than the opponent.”

“The squad almost entirely consist of players who convinced at the European Championship and worked well as a team. Furthermore some players will return after recovering from injuries and showing a good form. Sadly we will go without Christian Früchtl after a consultation with FC Bayern Munich. He will stay with his club due to the injury of Manuel Neuer. The talks with all the clubs were conducted in a constructive spirit.”

The German team will board their flight from Frankfurt to Goa, India on September 30.

Christian Wück’s team will face Costa Rica in their FIFA U-17 World Cup Group C opener at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Margao, Goa on October 7, before they take on Iran at the same venue on October 10. Germany’s last group stage match against Guinea will be played at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Kochi on October 13.


Luis Klatte (Hertha BSC), Luca Plogmann (Werder Bremen), Marian Prinz (Bayer 04 Leverkusen)

Dominik Becker (1. FC Cologne), Yann Aurel Bisseck (1. FC Cologne), Jan Boller (Bayer 04 Leverkusen), Pascal Hackethal (Werder Bremen), Kilian Ludewig (RB Leipzig), Lars Lukas Mai (FC Bayern Munich), Alexander Nitzl (FC Bayern Munich)

Elias Abouchabaka (RB Leipzig), Erik Majetschak (RB Leipzig), Sahverdi Cetin (Eintracht Frankfurt), Yannik Keitel (SC Freiburg), John Yeboah (VfL Wolfsburg)

Jann-Fiete Arp (Hamburger SV), Noah Awuku (Holstein Kiel), Dennis Jastrzembski, Jessic Ngankam (beide Hertha BSC), Nicolas-Gerrit Kühn (RB Leipzig), Maurice Malone (FC Augsburg)

On Standby
Eric Hottmann (VfB Stuttgart), Jose-Enrique Rios Alonso (VfB Stuttgart), Charles-Jesaja Herrmann (VfL Wolfsburg), Robin kehr (Borussia Dortmund), Stephan Mensah (Karlsruher SC), Daniel Asante Owusu (FC St. Pauli), Julian Rieckmann (Werder Bremen), Okan Mete Yilmaz (FC Schalke 04), Joshua Vagnoman (Hamburger SV)