THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Sunil Chhetri and Kamala Devi named AIFF Player’s of the Year 2017

Indian national team star striker Sunil Chhetri (Photo courtesy: AIFF Media)

The All India Football Federation (AIFF) at its Executive Committee meeting in Mumbai on Sunday, July 21 announced the best performers of the year across different categories.

India captain Sunil Chhetri was declared the 2017 AIFF Player of the Year while Kamala Devi was adjudged as the 2017 AIFF Women’s Player of the Year.

Anirudh Thapa and E. Panthoi were adjudged the 2017 Emerging Player and the 2017 Woman Emerging Player of the Year respectively.

The full list of the 2017 Awards are as follows:

2017 AIFF Award for Best Grassroots Development Programme: Kerala Football Association

2017 AIFF Award for long-time contribution to Indian Football: Hero Motocorp

2017 AIFF Award for Best Assistant Referee: Sumanta Datta (Assam)

2017 AIFF Award for Best Referee: C.R. Srikrishna.

2017 AIFF Emerging Women’s Footballer of the Year: E. Panthoi

2017 AIFF Emerging Player of the Year: Anirudh Thapa

2017 AIFF Women’s Footballer of the Year: Kamala Devi

2017 AIFF Player of the Year: Sunil Chhetri