THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Chhinga Veng FC retain their Lalbiakliana Memorial MFA Super Cup crown

Chhinga Veng FC retain their Lalbiakliana Memorial MFA Super Cup crown. (Photo courtesy: PC Lala)

A second half strike from Lalrammawia proved to be the difference in the Lalbiakliana Memorial MFA Super Cup final as Chhinga Veng FC overcame Chanmari FC to lift the trophy two years in a row.

An even match up under damp conditions resulted in both teams finding it hard to conjure up clear cut chances.

When presented with space and time, they were guilty of some wayward finishing as Lalrammawia and MS Dawngliana came close for Chhinga Veng FC while Laldampuia and Lalmuanzova spurned chances for Chanmari FC.

The match winning moment came in tne 66th minute when Chanmari FC’s goalkeeper Lalruatpuia managed to clear a corner only as far as Lalrammawia who needed no second invitation.

Chanmari FC looked to shake things up after going behind but last season’s champions stood their ground till the final whistle to lift their second ever MFA Super Cup trophy.


Chhinga Veng FC – Rs 1,50,000/- + Trophy

Chanmari FC – Rs 50,000/-

Rs 15,000/- each
Mizoram Police FC
Aizawl FC

Rs 6,000/- each
Aizawl FC Academy
Kanan FC
Ramhlun North FC
FC Zokhawthar

Round of 16
Rs 3,500/- each
Bethlehem Vengthlang FC
Zawlnuam FC
East Lungdar 1911 FC
Phulpui FC
LKS Hnahlan FC
Bungkawn FC
Armed Veng FC
J&S Memorial FC Ratu

Teams in the Round of 32 all awarded a cash prize of Rs. 2000/- each

Individual Awards

Best Forward
Laldampuia, Chanmari FC, Rs 3,000/-Trophy

Best Midfielder
MS Dawngliana, Chhinga Veng FC, Rs 3,000/-Trophy

Best Defender
PC Laldinpuia, Chhinga Veng FC, Rs 3,000/-Trophy

Best Goalkeeper
Zothanmawia, Chhinga Veng FC, Rs 3,000/-Trophy

Fair Play Award
Aizawl FC, Rs 15,000/- + Trophy

(Mizoram Football Association / Photo courtesy: PC Lala)