THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Inaugural Mizoram Under-15 League to kick-off tomorrow

Mizoram Under-15 League

The 10-team Mizoram Under-15 League will kick off from August 4, 2018 at Rajiv Gandhi Stadium in Aizawl. The league, jointly organised by Mizoram Football Association and Tata Trusts will run for more than four months.

The 10 teams participating in the league are

  1. Aizawl FC
  2. Aizawl Grassroots Centre
  3. Bawngkawn GSA
  4. Chanmari FC
  5. Competitors for Christ, Ramthar North
  6. FC Stonzz, Armed Veng
  7. Kanan FC
  8. M 28 Academy, Republic Veng
  9. Sihphir Venghlun FC
  10. Tata Trust COE

Each team will face the other teams twice in the league campaign, with the top four teams qualifying for the semifinals.

Tata Trusts and the Mizoram Football Association have worked to make the Mizoram Under-15 League among the premier age group football leagues in the country.

Matches will be played at the Rajiv Gandhi Stadium, with matchdays taking place on Saturdays and school holidays. All 10 teams will be in action on matchdays.

“We want to put more emphasis on youth football to ensure our overall progress continues. We are very excited that out young footballers will have four months of proper competitive football to hone their skills. We hope this league will generate future football stars,” said MFA Grassroots and Youth Development Committee Chairman P.C. Vanlalhruaia.

The first round of league matches will take place on August 4. The MFA invites all football fans to watch our youngster in action.

(Mizoram Football Association)