THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

India coach Stephen Constantine names probables for China friendly

Stephen Constantine and the Indian national team during a practise session (Photo courtesy: AIFF Media)
Stephen Constantine and the Indian national team during a practise session. Photo courtesy: AIFF Media

Thirteen U-23 players who were part of the Indian squad in the 2018 SAFF Cup last month have been summoned by National coach Stephen Constantine for the camp in New Delhi as part of the Senior National Team’s preparation for the International Friendly against China.

India are slated to play China on October 13, 2018 at the Suzhou Olympic Sports Centre Stadium, the kick-off of which is at 5.05pm IST.

The 29-member squad will assemble in the Capital for the two-day camp before they leave for China on October 10, 2018.

This is the first time the Senior National Team is travelling to China to play in an International match. The two sides last met in the Nehru Cup in Kochi back in 1997.

In order to prepare for the forthcoming 2019 AFC Asian Cup – UAE, India are slated to play a few International friendlies in the coming months and the coach feels “this are the kind of games we need”.

“China are a strong team and the match will be a tough test for us. But we need to play these sort of games right now. Getting to play under pressure is important and an away fixture in China is exactly the kind of game we need,” he stated. “Hopefully everyone stays free from injury as it’s going to be an important game for the build-up to the AFC Asian Cup in January.”

India Probables

Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Vishal Kaith, Amrinder Singh, Karanjeet Singh

Pritam Kotal, Sarthak Golui, Sandesh Jhingan, Anas Edathodika, Salam Ranjan Singh, Subhasish Bose, Narayan Das

Udanta Singh, Nikhil Poojary, Pronay Halder, Rowllin Borges, Germanpreet Singh, Anirudh Thapa, Souvik Chakraborti, Vinit Rai, Halicharan Narzary, Bikash Jairu, Ashique Kuruniyan, Lallianzuala Chhangte

Sunil Chhetri, Jeje Lalpekhlua, Balwant Singh, Sumeet Passi, Manvir Singh, Farukh Choudhary

(AIFF Media)