THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Panjim Footballers crowned champions of GFA Vedanta Women’s League

2018 GFA Vedanta Women's League champions Panjim Footballers. (Photo courtesy: Goa Football Association)
2018 GFA Vedanta Women's League champions Panjim Footballers. Photo courtesy: Goa Football Association

After four months of thrilling football, filled with plenty of action and surprising results, the Goa Football Association Vedanta Women’s League season two concluded amidst a glittering ceremony with Panjim Footballers being crowned champions for the second consecutive time at Sesa Football Academy’s Sirsaim campus.

Panjim Footballers topped the table with 25 points followed by runners-up Goan Football Club who grabbed 24 points while Churchill Borther Sports Club finished third with 22 points.

Panjim Footballers have also now qualified for the Indian Women’s League (IWL).

Speaking during the prize distribution ceremony, Annanya Agarwal, President Vedanta Football said, “Our heartiest congratulations to Panjim Footballers, the deserving champions of Vedanta Women’s League 2018. We would like to thank the Goa Football Association for their wonderful support and allowing us the opportunity to partner them for the Vedanta Women’s League, which is in line with Vedanta’s vision of supporting football as well as empowering women.”

“We are really excited to see the enthusiasm, passion and talent of the women footballers, who have put up a great show during the entire duration of the league and hope that they go on to bring laurels for Goa as well as India in the days to come,” he added.

Meanwhile, Panjim Footballers’ Karishma Shirvoikar bagged the Golden Boot Award for the second consecutive time netting 12 of the team’s 17 goals. Churchill Brothers Sport Club’s Michel Castanha was rewarded for her all round performance with the Golden Ball while Goan FC’s Josline D’Souza won the Golden Glove Award. Scindia Saundatikar was named the Most Promising Player of the league.

Speaking during the prize distribution ceremony, GFA President Churchill Alemao said, “The league was a great success and I would like to congratulate Panijm Footballers for winning the title for the second consecutive season. They were brilliant throughout the season. Congratulations to Goan FC and Churchill Brothers for finishing second and third respectively.”

“Special thanks to our sponsors Vedanta for helping and supporting us to make this league a huge success. I can promise you that next season we shall have a bigger and a better league and I would like to see more girls playing the beautiful game and go on the represent the State and country. it’s a matter of pride to see and witness you’ll play such a beautiful game,” added Churchill Alemao requesting the players to register with CSR so that they can play at National platform.

GFA President Churchill Alemao distributed the awards to winners and runners-up.

• Champions: Panjim Footballers
• Runners-up: Goan Football Club
• Second Runners-up: Churchill Brother Sports Club

Other Awards

• Golden Ball: Michel Castanha (Churchill Brother SC)
• Golden Glove: Josline D’Souza (Goan Football Club)
• Golden Boot: Karishma Shirvoikar (Panjim Footballers)
• Most Promising Player: ScindiaSaundatikar (Albert Developers SC)
• Best Disciplined Team: Ambelim Sports Club

(Goa Football Association)