THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Martina Voss-Tecklenburg announce 23-member Germany Women’s squad

Deutscher Fußball-Bund (DFB)

New head coach Martina Voss-Tecklenburg has announced a 23-member Germany Women’s national team squad for a friendly match against France. The match against the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup hosts will take place in Laval, France on February 28.

Almuth Schult, Linda Dallmann, Leonie Maier and Lena Petermann will miss the match due to injuries, while SGS Essen defender Marina Hegering has earned a debut call-up to the national team.

Star striker Alexandra Popp will take over the captaincy from Dzsenifer Marozsán, who stepped down from the position. Svenja Huth will be the vice-captain.

“The anticipation to this first international match is huge, since it will be the next step after our training camp in Marbella,” said Martina Voss-Tecklenburg. “We know that the French team is in a peak form and that they had an impressive run in the last couple of months. But we look forward to this challenge. It is important for us to get an idea where we stand right now.”

The Germany squad will depart to France on February 25, while they are scheduled to return from the trip on March 1. The team will then undergo a few training sessions and marketing activities in Munich until March 5.

Germany Women’s Squad

12 Lisa Schmitz (1. FFC Turbine Potsdam), 21 Merle Frohms (SC Freiburg), 30 Meike Kämper (MSV Duisburg)

2 Carolin Simon (Olympique Lyonnais), 3 Kathrin Hendrich (FC Bayern Munich), 8 Lena Goeßling (VfL Wolfsburg), 17 Verena Schweers (FC Bayern Munich), 23 Sara Doorsoun (VfL Wolfsburg), 25 Johanna Elsig (1. FFC Turbine Potsdam), 27 Felicitas Rauch (1. FFC Turbine Potsdam), 28 Marina Hegering (SGS Essen)

10 Dzsenifer Marozsán (Olympique Lyonnais), 13 Sara Däbritz (FC Bayern Munich), 15 Giulia Gwinn (SC Freiburg), 18 Melanie Leupolz (FC Bayern Munich), 20 Lina Magull (FC Bayern Munich), 26 Lena Lattwein (TSG 1899 Hoffenheim), 29 Sydney Lohmann (FC Bayern Munich), 33 Lena Sophie Oberdorf (SGS Essen)

7 Lea Schüller (SGS Essen), 11 Alexandra Popp (VfL Wolfsburg), 19 Svenja Huth (1. FFC Turbine Potsdam), 22 Turid Knaak (SGS Essen)