THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Joachim Löw announce new look Germany squad

Deutscher Fußball-Bund (DFB)

A clear signal of the new start for Germany: National coach Joachim Löw has called up Lukas Klostermann (RB Leipzig), Niklas Stark (Hertha BSC) and Maximilian Eggestein (Werder Bremen) for the first time for the start of the Euro qualifiers. This comes after Löw had stated his plans to give the squad a new identity ahead of Euro 2020.

The 23-man squad includes three goalkeepers: Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich), Marc-André ter Stegen (Barcelona) and Kevin Trapp (Eintracht Frankfurt). Aside from captain Neuer, the only other players who were part of the 2014 World Cup winning squad are Toni Kroos (Real Madrid) and Matthias Ginter (Borussia Mönchengladbach).

Germany will first take on Serbia on Wednesday, 20th March (20:45 CET) in Wolfsburg, before playing their first Euro qualifier against the Netherlands in Amsterdam on March 24th (20:45 CET).

Germany have only ever faced Serbia twice before; winning 2-1 in Gelsenkirchen in 2008, before losing 1-0 in the group stages of the 2010 World Cup in South Africa. Netherlands and Germany, on the other hand, have met 42 times. Germany have won 15 times, the Dutch on eleven occasions, with 16 draws so far recorded. The last meeting ended 2-2 in Gelsenkirchen in November 2018./

The away fixture in Amsterdam marks the beginning of Germany’s qualifying campaign for the European Championships in 2020, where Munich is also a host city. The other teams in the qualifying group are Belarus, Estonia and Northern Ireland.

Germany Squad

Manuel Neuer (FC Bayern Munich), Marc-André ter Stegen (FC Barcelona), Kevin Trapp (Eintracht Frankfurt)

Matthias Ginter (Borussia Mönchengladbach), Marcel Halstenberg (RB Leipzig), Thilo Kehrer (Paris Saint-Germain), Lukas Klostermann (RB Leipzig), Antonio Rüdiger (Chelsea FC), Nico Schulz (TSG 1899 Hoffenheim), Niklas Stark (Hertha BSC), Niklas Süle (FC Bayern Munich), Jonathan Tah (Bayer 04 Leverkusen)

Julian Brandt (Bayer 04 Leverkusen), Maximilian Eggestein (SV Werder Bremen), Serge Gnabry (FC Bayern Munich), Leon Goretzka (FC Bayern Munich), Ilkay Gündogan (Manchester City FC), Kai Havertz (Bayer 04 Leverkusen), Joshua Kimmich (FC Bayern Munich), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid CF), Marco Reus (Borussia Dortmund), Leroy Sané (Manchester City FC), Timo Werner (RB Leipzig)