THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

64 teams look forward to DFB-Pokal Round 1 draw on June 15

DFB-Pokal (German Cup)

The DFB-Pokal (German Cup) will kick off its 2019/20 campaign in August with a total of 64 qualified teams aiming for glory.

The 36 professional sides that played in the Bundesliga and Bundesliga 2 in the previous season take part in the competition every year. The same goes for the sides that finished first, second, third and fourth in the 2rd Division.

The line-up is completed by the 21 champions from the respective state cup competitions and three additional clubs from the three state associations with the most members.

The draw ceremony for the first round will take place at the Deutsches Fußballmuseum (German Football Museum) on June 15 and it will be broadcasted live on national television channel ARD.

The first round matches will be played from August 9 to 12. The final will take place at the Olympic Stadium in Berlin on May 23, 2020.

2019/20 DFB-Pokal – Participants


• 1. FSV Mainz 05
• 1. FC Nürnberg
• Bayer Leverkusen
• Borussia Dortmund
• Borussia Mönchengladbach
• Eintracht Frankfurt
• FC Augsburg
• FC Bayern München
• FC Schalke 04
• Fortuna Düsseldorf
• Hannover 96
• Hertha BSC
• RB Leipzig
• SC Freiburg
• TSG Hoffenheim
• VfB Stuttgart
• VfL Wolfsburg
• Werder Bremen

Bundesliga 2

• 1. FC Heidenheim
• 1. FC Köln
• 1. FC Magdeburg
• Arminia Bielefeld
• Dynamo Dresden
• Erzgebirge Aue
• FC Ingolstadt
• FC St. Pauli
• Hamburger SV
• Holstein Kiel
• Jahn Regensburg
• MSV Duisburg
• SC Paderborn
• SpVgg Greuther Fürth
• SV Darmstadt
• SV Sandhausen
• Union Berlin
• VfL Bochum

3. Liga (3rd Division)

• Hallescher FC (4th in the 3. Liga)
• Karlsruher SC (2nd in the 3. Liga)
• SV Wehen Wiesbaden (3rd in the 3.Liga)
• VfL Osnabrück (Winners of the 3. Liga)
• FC Hansa Rostock (Winners of the Mecklenburg-Vorpommern Cup)
• FC Würzburger Kickers (Winners of the Bavarian Cup)
• FC Energie Cottbus (Winners of the Brandenburg Cup)
• KFC Uerdingen 05 (Winners of the Lower Rhine Cup)
• FC Kaiserslautern (Winners of the Southwest Cup)

Regionalliga (4th Division)

• VfB Eichstätt (Best-placed amateur team in Bavaria)
• Waldhof Mannheim (Runners-up to already qualified Karlsruher SC in the Baden Cup)
• VfB Germania Halberstadt (Finalists against the already qualified Hallescher SC in the Saxony-Anhalt Cup)
• SV Drochtersen/Assel (Winners of the Lower Saxony Cup)
• FC Viktoria 1889 Berlin (Winners of the Berlin Cup)
• Chemnitzer FC (Winners of the Saxony Cup)
• SV Rödinghausen (Winners of the Westphalia Cup)
• SSV Ulm 1846 Fußball (Winners of the Württemberg Cup)
• FSV Wacker Nordhausen (Winners of the Thuringia Cup)
• Alemannia Aachen (Winners of the Middle Rhine Cup)
• VfB Lübeck (Winners of the Schleswig-Holstein Cup)
• FC Saarbrücken (Winners of the Saarland Cup)
• SC Verl (Winner of the play-off in Westfalen)

Oberliga (5th Division)

• KSV Baunatal (Finalist in the Hesse Cup against already qualified Wehen Wiesbaden)
• FC Oberneuland (Winner of the Bremen Cup)
• TuS Dassendorf (Winner of the Hamburg Cup)
• SV Atlas Delmenhorst (Winner of the Lower Saxony Cup)
• FC 08 Villingen (Winner of the South Baden Cup)

6th Division

• FSV Salmrohr (Winner of the Rhineland Cup)