THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Mizoram all set for Independence Day Cup 2019

2018 Independence Day Cup champions Chhinga Veng FC. (Photo courtesy: Mizoram Football Association)
2018 Independence Day Cup champions Chhinga Veng FC. Photo courtesy: Mizoram Football Association

Football has organically become a way of life in Mizoram and on that note, it has become tradition to celebrate the proudest day of the nation with a football festival.

36 teams will battle for three trophies under the Mizoram Football Association in celebration of our Indian Independence Day.

The eight top flight clubs will compete for the most prestigious Cup competition in the state, the I-Day Celebration Football Tournament 2019. While the same number of women teams will contest the Women’s I-Day trophy. Both competitions will kickoff from Monday, August 5.

The F. Lalchhandama (Papuia) Memorial Independence Day Football for Veterans is already under way with 20 teams competing for the age 40 above trophy.

Independence Day Cup 2019 – Groups

Group A
Mizoram Police FC, Aizawl FC, Electric Veng FC, Chanmari FC

Group B
Chhinga Veng FC, FC Venghnuai, Ramhlun North FC, Chawnpui FC

(Mizoram Football Association)