THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Important to stay in the rhythm, says Saheed Ramon

Mohammedan Sporting Club training session. (Photo courtesy: Mohammedan Sporting Club)
Mohammedan Sporting Club training session. Photo courtesy: Mohammedan Sporting Club

Mohammedan Sporting Club coach Saheed Ramon is anticipating a tough competition but he is confident that his charges are good enough to challenge for the title as the Black Panthers set to participate in the 39th Sikkim Governor’s Gold Cup.

The Black Panthers, who looks to build on their Calcutta Premier Division exploits where they went very close to bagging silverware after 38 years before eventually settling for a fourth-place finish, leaves for Gangtok tomorrow night, and coach Saheed Ramon has full confidence that his team will be up for the challenge.

Ramon knows that there is a reasonable amount of pressure on his side to deliver a similar result to Calcutta Premier Divison, and the Nigerian tactician has insight into what is required at this level of competition and believes the preparations the team has followed will assist them in achieving their objective.

“We will go all out for the title,” said Ramon. “We have prepared for this tournament. We are going there with a good team, a competitive team, which will perform to the best of their ability. The spirit is high in the team and the boys believe that we will do well in Gangtok.”

“We built a good rhythm during Calcutta Premier Division and I want the players to build on this momentum,” added Ramon.

Ramon maintains that despite the forthcoming 2nd Division League being more important than any other competition, winning any game will always be a priority.

“We aspire to win at all times. Governor’s Gold Cup is important to us. It’s important for the confidence of the team and the supporters.” he concluded.

Mohammedan Sporting Club Squad

Priyant Singh, Subham Roy, Miraj Ali

Fallou Diouf, Prosenjit Paul, Balwinder Singh, Kamran Farooque, Sujit Sadhu, Hira Mondal, Bikash Saini, Safiul Rahman

Satyam Sharma, Tirthankar Sarkar, Vanlalbiaa Chhangte, Sanjib Ghosh, Firoj Ali, Sujoy Dutta

Sarba Camara, Mohammed Farid, Charles Atcha

(Mohammedan Sporting Club)