THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

United States set to host 2020 Concacaf Women’s Olympic Qualifying Tournament

CONCACAF - Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football

The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (Concacaf) announced that the United States will host the 2020 Concacaf Women’s Olympic Qualifying Tournament. The competition, which will qualify two teams to the Women’s Olympic Football Tournament Tokyo 2020, is scheduled to take place January 28 – February 9, 2020.

The official draw and host cities announcement are scheduled to take place Thursday, November 7, 2019, from the Mediapro studios in Miami, FL. Fans can follow all the action beginning at 2:30 pm (ET) via Concacaf social media channels and broadcasters including OneSoccer (Canada), TUDN (Mexico) and Flowsports (Caribbean).

“The Concacaf Women’s Olympic Qualifying tournament is a hugely exciting competition that will showcase the very best of elite women’s football. It will provide a great opportunity for fans to enjoy watching current FIFA World Champions the United States, and fellow 2019 World Cup participants Canada and Jamaica, as they compete with the region’s best for the honor of representing their nation at Tokyo 2020.” said Concacaf President Victor Montagliani.

The 2020 Concacaf Women’s Olympic Qualifying tournament will include a field of eight teams. The United States, as host, will participate alongside North American qualifiers Canada and Mexico. The five remaining participants have been determined via regional qualifiers. From Central America, Costa Rica and Panama secured a spot via the 2019 Concacaf Central American Women’s Olympic qualifiers, which took place October 4-8, in Alajuela, Costa Rica and Panama City, Panama.

In the Caribbean, the three 2019 Concacaf Caribbean Women’s Olympic qualifiers group winners, Haiti, Jamaica and Saint Kitts and Nevis sealed a ticket to the final championship by finishing top in their respective groups. The Caribbean qualifiers took place September 30 – October 8, in Jamaica, Haiti and Trinidad and Tobago.

For the competition, the eight participating countries will be divided into two groups of four. After group stage round-robin play between January 28 – February 4, the top two finishers from each group will move on to the semifinals. The two semifinal matches, which will determine the two qualified teams to the Olympics, will be played on Friday, February 7. The championship final, where a new champion will be crowned, will be played on Sunday, February 9.

In the previous edition of the Concacaf Women’s Olympic Qualifying Tournament, hosted in Houston and Frisco, in 2016, the United States topped Canada 2-0 in the final, earning its straight 4th title.

The 2020 Concacaf Women’s Olympic Qualifying tournament will kick off what is set to be a year of Women’s Football at Concacaf. In total, more than 1,400 girls and women from the entire region will have access to top level football tournaments, including the Girls’ Under-15 Championship and the Women’s Under-17 and Under-20 Championships.

2020 Concacaf Women’s Olympic Qualifying Tournament

January 28 – February 9, 2020

To be announced on Thursday, November 7, 2019

Participating Teams (listed in alphabetical order)
Canada, Costa Rica, Haiti, Jamaica, Mexico, Panama, Saint Kitts and Nevis and United States.

Competition Format
The eight participating teams will be sorted into two groups of four teams. After round-robin play, the first and second place finishers of each group will advance to the semifinals. The semifinal winners will automatically qualify for the tournament’s final, as well as the Women’s Olympic Football Tournament Tokyo 2020.

• Group stage games will be played between January 28 to February 4, 2020;
• The top two finishers from each group will play semi-finals on Friday, February 7, 2020;
• The Final will be played on Sunday, February 9, 2020