THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Belgium’s Pro League set to be abandoned, Club Brugge to be declared champions

Jupiler Pro League

Belgium’s top-tier league, the Jupiler Pro League, is set to be abandoned, while runaway leaders Club Brugge would be awarded the title. The announcement was made by the league’s Board of Directors after a conference call on Thursday.

“The Board of Directors has taken note of the recommendations of the authorities, according to which it is very unlikely that matches with the public can take place before June 30. The current situation does not allow us to know if and when a resumption of collective training can be planned,” the Board of Directors said in a statement on the official league website.

“In addition, a resumption of competition could not exclude the risks to the health of players, employees and all those involved in the organisation of matches and in maintaining order. In addition, the possible contamination of a player or a core of players risks influencing the sporting development of the rest of the competition in an unacceptable manner.”

“Even if closed matches were theoretically possible, the additional pressure that the organisation of such matches would place on health services and law enforcement should be avoided. In addition, the decisions of the local authorities threaten to make it impossible to run the championship days simultaneously.”

“The Board of Directors unanimously decided that it was not desirable, whatever the scenario envisaged, to continue the competition after June 30. Taking into account the above elements, the Board of Directors made a unanimous recommendation to not resume the competitions of the 2019-20 season and to accept the current classification of the Jupiler Pro League as classification final, subject to the decisions of the licensing commission.”

The decision by the Board of Directors must be ratified by a meeting of the 24 clubs in the top two divisions. A meeting will be held on April 15 to ratify the decision.