THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

PUMA signs long-term partnership with the Football Association of Iceland

PUMA signs long-term partnership with the Football Association of Iceland. Image courtesy: PUMA

Sports company PUMA has entered into a long-term partnership with the Football Association of Iceland (KSI) to become the official technical sponsor for the men’s, women’s and youth teams.

“I am extremely impressed with what Iceland has achieved,” said Björn Gulden, CEO of PUMA. “Despite a small population, they have great talent, the players a fantastic attitude and they always have a great team spirit. We really look forward to working with them.”

With a population of just 330,000, Iceland qualified for the UEFA EURO 2016 Finals and is the smallest national team to qualify for the men’s FIFA World Cup in 2018. The women’s team have also achieved success by qualifying for three UEFA Women’s European Championships in a row, 2009, 2013 and 2017. Following their rise in the world rankings, Iceland has been embraced around the world, capturing the imagination of football fans with inspirational performances on the pitch and strong support off the pitch.

Fans of the Icelandic team have produced an exhilarating stadium atmosphere with the now iconic ‘Thunderclap’. This spectacle has gained widespread popularity and attention after reverberating all over the world. Following matches, the players join the fans to continue this tradition in a post-match ritual, showcasing the remarkable bond the team have with their fans.

“We are excited and very much looking forward to our partnership with PUMA, one of the world’s leading sport brands. Their enthusiasm for Icelandic football and what we stand for has been impressive. I am confident that together with PUMA we can enjoy further success both on and off the field.” said Gudni Bergsson, FA of Iceland President.

Iceland will join a number of national teams on the PUMA roster such as Italy, Austria, Serbia, Switzerland and the Czech Republic.