THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

India’s National Sports Awards 2020 announced

Shri Kiren Rijiju interacting with the media after taking charge as the Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Youth Affairs and Sports, in New Delhi on May 31, 2019. (Photo courtesy: Press Information Bureau, Government of India)
Shri Kiren Rijiju interacting with the media after taking charge as the Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Youth Affairs and Sports, in New Delhi on May 31, 2019. (Photo courtesy: Press Information Bureau, Government of India)

Sports Awards are given every year to recognize and reward excellence in sports. Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is given for the spectacular and most outstanding performance in the field of sports by a sportsperson over a period of four years; Arjuna Award is given for consistent outstanding performance for four years; Dronacharya Award goes to the coaches for producing medal winners at prestigious international sports events; Dhyan Chand Award is for life time contribution to sports development and Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puraskar is given to the corporate entities (both in private and public sector) and individuals who have played a visible role in the area of sports promotion and development. Overall top performing university in inter-university tournaments is given Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy. In addition to these Sports Awards, the Ministry also recognises the spirit of adventure among the people of the country by bestowing the Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Award.

A large number of applications were received for Sports Awards this year, which were considered by the Selection Committee headed by Justice (Retd.) Mukundakam Sharma (former Judge of Supreme Court of India) and other members comprising of eminent sportspersons, persons having experience in sports journalism and sports administration, etc.

Based on the recommendations of the Committee and after due scrutiny, the Government has decided to confer awards upon the following sportspersons, coaches and entities under various categories:

The awardees will receive their awards from the Hon’ble President of India at a specially organized function through virtual mode from Rashtrapati Bhawan on 29th August, 2020.

S. No.Name of the SportspersonDiscipline
Shri Rohit SharmaCricket
Shri Mariyappan T.Para Athletics
Ms. Manika BatraTable Tennis
Ms. VineshWrestling
Ms. RaniHockey
  1. Life- Time Category
S. No.Name of the CoachDiscipline
Shri Dharmendra TiwaryArchery
Shri Purushotham RaiAthletics
Shri Shiv SinghBoxing
Shri Romesh PathaniaHockey
Shri Krishan Kumar HoodaKabaddi
Shri Vijay Bhalchandra MunishwarPara Powerlifting
Shri Naresh KumarTennis
Shri Om Parkash DahiyaWrestling
  1. Regular Category
S. No.Name of the CoachDiscipline
Shri Jude Felix SebastianHockey
Shri Yogesh MalviyaMallakhamb
Shri Jaspal RanaShooting
Shri Kuldeep Kumar HandooWushu
Shri Gaurav KhannaPara Badminton
S. No.Name of the Sportsperson (Shri)Discipline
Shri Atanu DasArchery
Ms. Dutee ChandAthletics
Shri Satwik Sairaj RankireddyBadminton
Shri Chirag Chandrasekhar ShettyBadminton
Shri Vishesh BhriguvanshiBasketball
Subedar Manish KaushikBoxing
Ms. Lovlina BorgohainBoxing
Shri Ishant SharmaCricket
Ms. Deepti SharmaCricket
Shri Sawant Ajay AnantEquestrian
Shri Sandesh JhinganFootball
Ms. Aditi AshokGolf
Shri Akashdeep SinghHockey
Ms. DeepikaHockey
Shri DeepakKabaddi
Shri Kale Sarika SudhakarKho Kho
Shri Dattu Baban BhokanalRowing
Ms. Manu BhakerShooting
Shri Saurabh ChaudharyShooting
Ms. Madhurika Suhas PatkarTable Tennis
Shri Divij SharanTennis
Shri Shiva KeshavanWinter Sports
Ms. Divya KakranWrestling
Shri Rahul AwareWrestling
Shri Suyash Narayan JadhavPara Swimming
Shri SandeepPara Athletics
Shri Manish NarwalPara Shooting
S. No.Name of the SportspersonDiscipline
Shri Kuldip Singh BhullarAthletics
Ms. Jincy PhilipsAthletics
Shri Pradeep Shrikrishna GandheBadminton
Ms. Trupti MurgundeBadminton
Ms. N. UshaBoxing
Shri Lakha SinghBoxing
Shri Sukhvinder Singh SandhuFootball
Shri Ajit SinghHockey
Shri Manpreet SinghKabaddi
Shri J. Ranjith KumarPara Athletics
Shri Satyaprakash TiwariPara Badminton
Shri Manjeet SinghRowing
Late Shri Sachin NagSwimming
Shri Nandan P BalTennis
Shri Netarpal HoodaWrestling
S. No.Name of the SportspersonCategory
Ms. Anita DeviLand Adventure
Col. Sarfraz SinghLand Adventure
Shri Taka TamutLand Adventure
Shri Narender SinghLand Adventure
Shri Keval Hiren KakkaLand Adventure
Shri Satendra SinghWater Adventure
Shri Gajanand YadavaAir Adventure
Late Shri Magan BissaLife Time Achievement
1.Panjab University, Chandigarh
S. No.CategoryEntity recommended for Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar, 2020
1.Identification and Nurturing of Budding and Young Talent
  1. Lakshya Institute
  2. Army Sports Institute
2.Encouragement to sports through Corporate Social ResponsibilityOil and Natural Gas Corporation (ONGC) Ltd.
3.Employment of sportspersons and sports welfare measuresAir Force Sports Control Board
4.Sports for Development


International Institute of Sports Management (IISM)

(Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports – Government of India)