THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Manuel Neuer and Lena Oberdorf voted German national team players of the year

Deutscher Fußball-Bund (DFB)

Germany men’s national team goalkeeper Germany women’s national team midfielder Lena Oberdorf have won the DFB National Team Player of the Year awards.

Manuel Neuer voted Die Mannschaft Player of the Year 2020

Germany captain Manuel Neuer can always be counted on to be a solid presence at the back. The goalkeeper from Bayern München never fails to showcase his talents, is ready to take responsibility after tough games and acts as head coach Joachim Löw’s right-hand man on the pitch.

The 34-year-old won every major trophy there was to win last season with Bayern, winning the Bundesliga, the DFB-Pokal, the Champions League, the German Supercup and the UEFA Super Cup. Neuer was also named The Best FIFA men’s goalkeeper of the year for the fifth time, in addition to being recognised as the European goalkeeper of the year and coming in third in the vote for European footballer of the year.

Germany’s No. 1 can now add another award to his 2020 haul, as fans of Die Mannschaft have voted Neuer as their Player of the Year 2020. Neuer received 57.8 percent of the vote, ahead of teammates Serge Gnabry (15%) and Matthias Ginter (9.3%).

Oberdorf voted Women’s National Team Player of the Year

Lena Oberdorf’s versatility, vision and physique make her almost irreplaceable in the Germany women’s national team these days – and she’s still only 19. The technically-gifted defender has developed from a top talent into a permanent fixture in the national team. So it’s no surprised that, after an extraordinary 2020 in which Germany qualified for the European Championship without dropping a single point, Oberdorf was crowned Women’s National Team Player of the Year.

Oberdorf, who recently extended her contract at VfL Wolfsburg, picked up 26.8% of fan votes, beating Sydney Lohmann (22.3%) and Lina Magull (16.1%).