THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

AFC President hails nine-time AFC Women’s Asian Cup™ champions China PR

AFC Women's Asian Cup India 2022 (© Asian Football Confederation)
AFC Women's Asian Cup India 2022 (© Asian Football Confederation)

The Asian Football Confederation (AFC) President Shaikh Salman bin Ebrahim Al Khalifa has congratulated China PR on winning the AFC Women’s Asian Cup India 2022™ following a 3-2 victory over the Korea Republic on Sunday at the D.Y. Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai. This was the Steel Roses’ record-extending ninth title in the Continental premier women’s national team tournament.

The AFC President also extended his praise to China PR, Korea Republic, Japan and history-makers the Philippines and Vietnam on qualifying for the FIFA Women’s World Cup Australia & New Zealand 2023 where they will be joined by co-host Australia.

Additionally, Thailand and Chinese Taipei have qualified for the Inter-Confederation Playoffs scheduled in the FIFA window from February 13 to 23, 2023 and depending on their results, Asia could potentially be represented by eight teams in the global showpiece.

Shaikh Salman said: “The AFC Women’s Asian Cup India 2022™ marked another successful celebration of women’s football on the Continent. Fans from around the world watched Asia’s leading teams in action that culminated with China PR being crowned as champions.

“In every edition, new stars have emerged from the AFC Women’s Asian Cup™ and teams continue to set new milestones as we’ve witnessed in the Final as well as the Philippines’ and Vietnam’s historic qualifications to the FIFA Women’s World Cup, a feat that will certainly be celebrated widely in their countries.

“Asia’s women’s national teams are already among the best in world football and it is through the enduring legacy of the AFC Women’s Asian Cup™ that we can continue to inspire the next generation of women footballers.

“I must thank the Local Organising Committee and the All India Football Federation for their unwavering support in hosting this tournament despite the challenging circumstances caused by the pandemic. We must not forget our stakeholders, the media, our passionate fans and the volunteers who have contributed to this wonderful celebration.”

There was more joy for China PR when Wang Shanshan was named the tournament’s Most Valuable Player while Sam Kerr of Australia finished as the Yili Top Goalscorer after finding the back of the net seven times.

The Best Goalkeeper award went to Zhu Yu of China PR while runners-up Korea Republic won the AFC Fair Play Award.