THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Hero Indian Women’s League 2021-22 to premiere LIVE on Eurosport India

Hero Indian Women's League (IWL)

The Hero Indian Women’s League (Hero IWL), an AIFF flagship property and the top division of women’s professional football club competition in India will be broadcast LIVE & exclusively on Eurosport India. The fifth edition of the premier women’s league of Indian football will see 12 teams vie for the top honours across three grounds in Odisha (Kalinga Stadium, Capital Stadium and Battalion Stadium).

The Hero IWL is back after two years with the fifth edition set to take place from 15th April – 26th May 2022.

A total of 66 matches will be played throughout the season with every team playing each other once; Eurosport will be airing 30 matches. The team with the most points in the league table at the end of the season will be crowned champions of the Hero Indian Women’s League 2021-22.

“It’s great to have Eurosport on board to telecast the Hero Indian Women’s League 2022 and help us move forward together. Since the format of the games this season has changed and more number of games are added, I am sure, the fans will also be able to enjoy the matches from their drawing room”, Mr. Sunando Dhar, CEO, Leagues and Development, AIFF averred.

Eurosport India is committed to bringing Indian football to fans across the country. Sports fans have been able to cheer for their national team in friendly internationals against Oman and UAE as well as during the South Asian Football Federation (SAFF) Championship matches over the past year. Eurosport also broadcast the inaugural season of the Hero Futsal Club Championship and the 2022 AFC Women’s Asian Cup, which was held in India.

Hero IWL 2021-22 campaign kicks off on Friday, 15th April 2022 with simultaneous kickoffs at 3:30 PM IST, as PIFA Sports (Colaba) FC take on Kickstart FC Karnataka at the Capital Ground, while SSB Women FC face Hans Women FC at the 7th Battalion Ground, in Bhubaneswar, Odisha.

All matches at the Capital Ground and Kalinga Stadium would be Live streamed on the Indian Football YouTube page.