CPD FOOTBALL | THE BLOG | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Churchill Brothers SC ready for away game against Home United FC

AFC Cup - Home United FC v Churchill Brothers SC - Press Conference

AFC Cup - Home United FC v Churchill Brothers SC - Press Conference

The Jalan Besar Stadium will witness a clash between the Indian champions Churchill Brothers SC and Singapore based club Home United FC in what is expected to be a thrilling AFC Cup Group E encounter on Wednesday at 19.30 Singapore Time (17.00 IST / 13.30 CET / 12.30 GMT).

The last time the two teams met was on the March 18 in Goa and Churchill Brothers registered a sensational 3-1 victory over the Singapore outfit. Anthony Wolfe, Raju Yumnam and Balwant Singh were instrumental in helping their side grab all the three crucial points.

However, the Goan side will head into this match without the services of two keys players; Anthony Wolfe who has a shoulder injury and Shabana is out due to suspension.

After three rounds, the Red Machines have 6 points while the host have 1 point.

Head coach Mariano Dias commented on tomorrow’s match and said, “We played Home United in Goa and it was a big victory for us, but playing against them in their home ground will not be an easy task. They also have a strong support of their fans at home.”

“We have had a long journey and the team will miss the services of two regular players that is Shabana and Anthony Wolfe.”

“Whether it is an I-League or an AFC Cup Match, the team will go all out for a win tomorrow with the same positive attitude and the boys who have been training very hard will give their best on the field and try to get all three points from this match”, he concluded.

Denzil Franco said, “We are confident but not over confident. We will give out best and hope that the team will go back to India with a win”, he added.  On been asked about the artificial turf at Jalan Besar Stadium, Denzil replied „We have artificial turfs in India too. I don’t see that as a problem.“

Home United coach Lee Lim Saeng said, „Tomorrow’s game is like a final and the three points is very crucial for us. We are looking forward for a good game and hopefully the team will deliver a good performance.“

The coach further added, ”We have many injuries and struggled in both competitions including the S.League, because of injuries. I hope with the players at our utility, we will get back to winning ways.”

Home United captain Jumaat Jantan said, ”It is very important that we win and collect maximum points in our home ground. A win tomorrow is very crucial for the team as it will not be easy to make it to the next round of the AFC Cup if we don’t collect all three points.”

The game promises to be exciting as both teams are looking for wins even as the Red Machines have the edge with their recent good results in their AFC campaign and will go into this match with a lot of confidence.