CPD FOOTBALL | THE BLOG | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Bayern Munich set to leave for Asia

India vs FC Bayern München – Audi Football Summit

Bundesliga giants FC Bayern Munich will be leaving Germany for their one week long winter training camp in Doha and the „Audi Football Summit“ in Delhi on Monday. The Bayern contingent will take-off on a Lufthansa flight at 9.00 CET.

Coach Jupp Heynckes will prepare his wards for the second half of the season at the ASPIRE Academy for Sports Excellence. Bayern will be enjoying the excellent facilities at the famous sports complex and they will be staying at the „The Grand Heritage“ hotel.

Heynckes is happy to have all his players back on board with the likes of Bastian Schweinsteiger returning to full training after injuries.

„It is very important to train under the best climatic conditions for the team spirit and the automatism on the pitch,“ Heynckes told the club’s website.

„We need to prepare us physically, mentally and tactically. We will be facing various situations of pressure in the second half of the campaign,“ star midfielder Bastian Schweisteiger told.

Bayern will face Al Ahly Cairo (January 7) in a friendly match at Doha, before they continue their journey to India on January 9. The Germans will face the Indian national team in the „Audi Football Summit“ at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Delhi a day after their arrival.

The „Audi Football Summit“ will see a full strength Bayern team taking on the Indian team led by Baichung Bhutia. The match will be Baichung’s farwell game and a capacity crowd is expected to grace the occassion.

Extensive coverage of the „Audi Football Summit“ will be available at www.chrispd.de, while exclusive multimedia content will be provided at www.facebook.com/cpd81.

The India vs FC Bayern Munich match is scheduled to kick-off at 18.00 IST (13.30 CET / 12.30 GMT). The opening ceremony will be held at 17.30 IST (13.00 CET / 12.00 GMT). The India finals of the FC Bayern Youth Cup will be also held at the sidelines of the big match. The finals will take place at 16.00 IST (11.30 CET /10.30 GMT).

TEN Action+ will broadcast the match LIVE in India, while SAT.1 will show the match in Germany. Additional live stream will be also available online at ran.de, the sports portal of the German tv channel.

More information about the match and tickets are available at www.audifootballsummit.in!