THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Media selects WPS’ Best XI of 2011

Women's Professional Soccer (WPS)

Women's Professional Soccer (WPS)

Ten days after the conclusion of the 2011 WPS Season, WPS unveils the 2011 WPS Best XI as selected by the media.

Similar to the 2010 vote, the votes were cast by media following the season finale, the WPS Championship presented by Citi.  The final results of this year’s vote features six players from 2011 WPS Champion Western New York Flash, four players from regular season and Championship runner-up Philadelphia Independence, and one representative from the magicJack.  Not surprisingly, the top XI includes four of five of the WPS year-end award winners including: Veronica Boquete, Michelle Akers Player of the Year; Ashlyn Harris, US Coast Guard Goalkeeper of the Year; Whitney Engen, WPS Defender of the Year; Nikki Krzysik, Citi Sportswoman of the Year.

Three of the players -Boquete, Christine Sinclair and Engen- were unanimous selections. Four of the 2011 honorees are repeat selections from the 2010 season: Marta, Ali Riley, Sinclair and Abby Wambach.

This vote was not compiled in 2009 by the media as the 2009 WPS All-Star Game took place at the end of the season and the league compiled its own Starting XI vote through the regular All-Star Game vote from fans, players and media.



Ashlyn Harris (Western New York Flash)

Whitney Engen (Western New York Flash), Kia McNeill (Philadelphia Independence), Nikki Krzysik (Philadelphia Independence), Ali Riley (Western New York Flash)

Veronica Boquete (Philadelphia Independence), Caroline Seger (Western New York Flash), Jen Buczkowski (Philadelphia Independence)

Christine Sinclair (Western New York Flash), Marta (Western New York Flash), Abby Wambach (magicJack)

(WPS Press Release)